Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2002, 07:58 AM
coleslaw coleslaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: vancouver
Posts: 39
Default GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

is there a simple way of doing this on Protools LE?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2002, 11:08 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

Are you talking one or two in a track or a track full of them?
You can edit them with the pencil tool, or delete them if they are during transient parts ina track with no audio. If your track(s) are laden with them, you have a problem that needs to be addressed.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2002, 09:20 PM
EjA EjA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default Re: GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

Yeah, I've been geting them, too. A lot more than I would like to pencil out I'll try replacing all cables that hook up to my guitar preamp next and see if that helps.

Anyone else been down his road? Care to lend some experience?

Thanks,
EjA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2002, 10:22 PM
Slaterman Slaterman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA
Posts: 265
Default Re: GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

Yep. A common problem. I've tried a number of things, from trashing the relevant system preferences to rebooting to removing plugins to kicking my dual-800 to going in with the pencil to replacing sections that have cracks/pops to boosting the RAM allocation to defragmenting my hard drive.

Defragmenting the hard drive sometimes helps, as does trashing the relevant preferences (do a DUC search to see which ones to remove). If the cracks/pops are at the beginning or ending of a region, you'll need to zoom in and cut at a "zero point" or use the "fade in/fade out" feature, and that'll get rid of the crack/pop.

Hope this helps. I've been there. And am still there from time to time....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2002, 10:35 PM
Kamurah Kamurah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 327
Default Re: GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

Question for you guys:

Do any of you have OTHER digital gear attached to your 001 via SPDIF or ADAT?

Have you made sure that the software reflects your proper clocking?

I only ask because the only times I have ever gotten pops or clicks in Pro Tools was when the clocking and / or samplerate was set incorrectly.

I use an Apogee Rosetta A/D as my masterclock and slave the Digi to that via SPDIF.

Another thing for you guys to check is your power supply. If you have fluctuations in voltage, this can cause funky things (like pops or clicks). I highly recommend picking up a UPS of some sort. Make sure you get the kind that has automatic voltage regulation and not just surge protection.

These are just shots in the dark....I am sure the Digi Tech guys can provide better insight.

Best of luck guys.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2002, 10:36 PM
auckland yobbo auckland yobbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 116
Default Re: GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

raising your latency can help too.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2002, 09:02 AM
Slaterman Slaterman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA
Posts: 265
Default Re: GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

I've got a nice UPS, and haven't found myself needing to use SPDIF or ADAT, or anything having to do with clocking.

My experience is that it sometimes might be related to a fragmented hard drive. Or messed up system preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2002, 07:24 AM
kite kite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 392
Default Re: GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE

I used to get a few cracles or spikes on audio tracks, for no particular obvious reason. I finally decided that disc fragmantation could be the problem, as my Glyph drive ,and ATTO scsi card were showing rather too much fragmentation. Previously I had an Adaptec 2940 card,on the G3, but this wouldn't work on the G4.
I contacted ATTO, and they suggested reformatting the Glyph with ATTO , which I did, and problem does seem to have gone away - much less fragmentation too
__________________
www.kitestudio.co.uk
Mac Pro
Snow Leopard
003 & Midas Venice desk
Mindprint DTC
Soundelux U99
Drawmer M-Clock
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools popping and cracking sound. finaly solved LONDIN Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 11 11-29-2012 01:31 PM
Robotic cracking and popping sound. fretcruiser Windows 11 11-04-2012 02:05 PM
Popping and cracking using adat in (003r) geekkiller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-31-2010 05:12 PM
Cracking Noise During Playback openoyster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-26-2009 07:49 PM
Cracking and extreme noise in LE 7 atomicwave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-19-2007 03:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com