Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2018, 04:24 PM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 472
Default WaveShellSoundGridRack-AAX

Hmmm..... does this mean that there IS an actual AAX-DSP plugin format from Waves, and will it be compatible with our HDX Pro Tools rigs?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2018, 05:23 PM
metalmixer metalmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 222
Default Re: WaveShellSoundGridRack-AAX

well sort of ...

Waves Digigrid
it "fakes" a real time DSP plug-in by add a hardware insert with native plugin processing.
We did some testing and you get dramatically lower the native processing delay and to around 40-100 samples depending of the plugin type of course.
Yes you can set a DSP plugin in front/before a Native plugin of course that can lead to some heavy delay even with a low buffer size. but with a Digigrid insert your latency is very low and does NOT CHANGE with higher Pro Tools buffer settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2018, 05:54 PM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 281
Default Re: WaveShellSoundGridRack-AAX

The WaveShell for SoundGrid Rack for VENUE is basically a wrapper specifically for VENUE | S6L that allows AAX GUIs to be shown and control the audio processing that is happening in SoundGrid.

This is not in any way related to Pro Tools and HDX
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2018, 09:02 AM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 472
Default Re: WaveShellSoundGridRack-AAX

Thanks for the clarification Ryan.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2018, 10:50 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 535
Default WaveShellSoundGridRack-AAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by emluper View Post
Hmmm..... does this mean that there IS an actual AAX-DSP plugin format from Waves, and will it be compatible with our HDX Pro Tools rigs?


I have a DLS box which when connected to my HDX card a guy can use studio racks AAX-DSP with Waves plugins. Waves also has SoundGrid Connect which uses an ASIO driver ,(e.g. UAD Apollo), however it will NOT work with ProTools ASIO driver. The later then only requires the DLS to be on a connected network.

https://www.waves.com/mixers-racks/s...rack-for-venue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]

Last edited by jjnssn; 10-21-2018 at 08:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com