Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:46 PM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Exclamation Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

I mean using outboard gear such delays verbs,in real time when mixing?I still have cheapers oldies like digitech,lexicon,tc,so why don't use it?
Latency isues?
Any tips or experience?
Thanx a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:47 PM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

Ah,an inviroment with pc,PT LE or MP.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2010, 09:28 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,015
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

The only outboard I use live are the Lexicons. I print and adjust most everything else.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2010, 09:35 PM
Dorian Green Dorian Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: France
Posts: 210
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

I do use few DBX and stuff like that as outboard gear!
But the main issue is...snare rolll.......LATENCY!
Even with the smallest buffer size, there is style the routing and physical path!
So the only thing to do in such situation (no ADC on PTLE yet!)...
PRINT your processed signal and nudge it to get it synchronized to the rest of your session.The bad point in that is you'll have to do it over again if you're not satisfied with the applied settings of your outboard device.
The good point is you save a bit of cpu power (depending on the equivalent plugin

The only tip I can give you for that procedure is to set a signal at the very beginning of the track, on a precise grid point, like a very short 1000Hz bip.This signal is very clean (even processed!) and you can easily tab to Transient and match the processed track to the unprocessed track on time!

Hope it helps
__________________
Green Room Studios, France
Mac Book Pro i7 15"4 Mac OSX 10.6.6
PT 9.0.2
DIY Intel Core 2 Quad, P5B Premium,DDR2 6GB, Win 7 Ultimate.
PTLE 8.0.4
002R Unit and MBox Mini
SSL XLogic Alpha Channel.
SPL Goldmike valve Preamp.
DBX Analog Compressors, Gate and Eq.
Monster Cables
Home made & Neutrik Patchbay.
Brauner, Shure, Seinnheiser and T.Bone mikes.
Tannoy 8D Active monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:41 PM
nerhal nerhal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: puyallup, wa
Posts: 263
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

I run my art tube compressor outboard for drums and works quite well. latency doesn't seem to be much issue either.
__________________
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor 3.21GHz
Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Total Memory : 4GB DIMM DDR3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 670MHz (1.34GHz)
western digital black (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 932GB (C:)
western digital black (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 932GB (D:)
Memorex DVD+-RAM 550L v1 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (G:)
Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600 x64
gateway 24inch hdmi dvi HD monitor
pro tools LE 8.0.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:34 AM
tdawgg tdawgg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 133
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

http://www.mellowmuse.com/ATA.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2010, 08:52 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,016
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

Latency is unavoidable due to conversion from digital to analog and then back in. Since Pro Tools doesn't compensate automatically, you are stuck doing it manually by nudging, or by using the Mellowmuse ATA plugin(on all tracks that did NOT make the extra journey out and back). For me, its simply not worth the bother. With so many great sounding plugins available, its quite easy to stay in the box. Now I will use outboard compression with my outboard preamps and record with mild compression(but that's likely not what you are asking about). Digital reverb works just dandy this way and I was running a TC M-ONE on the SPDIF port(if you adjust pre-delay so it sounds right, the print it, it IS right, regardless of latency because you made it sound correct). Of course, using SPDIF avoids any conversion. My best advice; if you have some really nice outboard gear like vintage Pultecs or 1176 or a real Fairchild, then its worth the hassle. If you have average stuff like DBX or Alesis 3630 or stuff you use in the PA when you go gigging, don't bother. Get a few great plugins and stay ITB With plugins, you get to use a dozen Pultecs(or whatever) instead of the 1 outboard piece, all your settings are saved, you can automate the settings, and tubes and caps never wear out
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:12 PM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

Dear fellas,it's just what i thought.Interesting the EU's ATA.gonna check it out.Anyway,thank you so much.
Blackers
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:38 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,015
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

Even with an 1176 or LA3A I find it best to print going in and not during the mix, as albee said use something in the box for that. Plus recalling a mix with a lot of outboard can really be a hassle.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:35 PM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Re: Anybody using outboard gear with PT ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Even with an 1176 or LA3A I find it best to print going in and not during the mix, as albee said use something in the box for that. Plus recalling a mix with a lot of outboard can really be a hassle.
Yeah Tom,well remembered
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADC with outboard gear? basslik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-09-2010 07:33 PM
Using outboard gear 98wildcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-19-2007 01:54 PM
where to put outboard gear wayner ICON & C|24 0 09-15-2005 07:19 PM
Using outboard gear with 002 Laboratory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-29-2003 07:05 PM
Outboard gear??????????? adspi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-20-2000 03:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com