Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2010, 05:40 PM
Funkle Funkle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Clicking and Popping Noise

Im doing some recording using the mbox2 involving guitar/bass into the DI inputs of the mbox. It seems to handle everything fine until i started adding more and more tracks. At first the clicking and popping was only when i was recording with the h/w buffer size at 64, and would then go away for playback when i set the h/w buffer size at the max, 2048. I have roughly 12 audio tracks for guitars, all using the Eleven free plugin. Is there any way to get this to stop? It makes it fairly hard to mix while its popping and clicking all the way through. Also, it is apparently only clicking/popping during playback on the BASS track i just recorded. However the clicking seemed to start during record, at h/w buffer 64, when i got to around 10 guitar tracks. All other tracks seem fine with the h/w buffer size at max. Im running Pro Tools 8 on PC. Sorry i dont have computer specs =/ Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2010, 05:43 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,677
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkle View Post
Im doing some recording using the mbox2 involving guitar/bass into the DI inputs of the mbox. It seems to handle everything fine until i started adding more and more tracks. At first the clicking and popping was only when i was recording with the h/w buffer size at 64, and would then go away for playback when i set the h/w buffer size at the max, 2048. I have roughly 12 audio tracks for guitars, all using the Eleven free plugin. Is there any way to get this to stop? It makes it fairly hard to mix while its popping and clicking all the way through. Also, it is apparently only clicking/popping during playback on the BASS track i just recorded. However the clicking seemed to start during record, at h/w buffer 64, when i got to around 10 guitar tracks. All other tracks seem fine with the h/w buffer size at max. Im running Pro Tools 8 on PC. Sorry i dont have computer specs =/ Any help would be greatly appreciated.
post a Sandra Report for the specs


To enable other users to help you, please include all of your system details when posting an issue to the DUC; Pro Tools hardware,
Pro Tools software version, CPU, OS version, Motherboard make/model, chipset, amount of RAM, type of hard drives used, etc.


- Please - Use SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application to generate a full system profile:

CLICK HERE---->Sandra Report<----CLICK HERE


Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the FREE Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions.
After installing Sandra, click on the
'Hardware' tab and run the 'Computer Overview', then copy and paste into your post here on the
DUC.

Help Us Help You
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2010, 06:08 PM
Funkle Funkle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : kyle
User : Administrator

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8400 @ 2.66GHz
Speed : 2.67GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 2MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
BIOS : Award (Phoenix) F7 01/13/2009
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3.25GB DIMM DDR2

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte P45/P43/G45/G43 DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DIMM DDR2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 400MHz (800MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston 2G-UDIMM 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-23-6-3)
Memory Module : Kingston 2G-UDIMM 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-23-6-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (128 SP 436MHz, 512MB DDR3 2x280MHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (D:)
WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:)
SanDisk Cruzer 8GB (USB) : 7GB (G:)
Seagate ST3500830AS (500.1GB, USB/SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 466GB (F:)
ATAPI DVD A DH20A4P (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 226MB (E:)
RYV B49E30HY3K5Y (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R) : N/A (H:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (D:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Handout_pdf's_2560 (E:) : 226MB (UDF) @ ATAPI DVD A DH20A4P (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (H:) : N/A @ RYV B49E30HY3K5Y (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R)
Removable Drive (G:) : 7GB (FAT32) @ SanDisk Cruzer 8GB (USB)
External (F:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3500830AS (500.1GB, USB/SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 8MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8718F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte HD Audio Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Giga-Byte TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : HP Officejet 6000 E609n Series (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP Officejet 6000 E609n Series (1200x1200, USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC #2 - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 100Mbps)
Network Adapter : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC - Packet Scheduler Miniport

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2010, 06:16 PM
Funkle Funkle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2010, 06:33 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,677
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

What does your CPU meter say in pro tools. (Window> System Usage) 12 instances of Eleven is alot. try printing some of the tracks and disabling and hiding the tracks with Eleven on them. that way you still have processed sound, but you are not using so many instances of Eleven.

What is your Playback Engine set to for CPU? try changing it to 3 cores.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2010, 07:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

Yes indeed. Eleven(and every amp simulator) is a cpu hog. Running more than 3 instances will drag most any system down. Route your guitar tracks with GR inserted to new AUDIO tracks and record them, and then right-click on the originals and select Hide and Make Inactive. Making them inactive means that those tracks won't use ANY system power at all(but they are still available if you need to come back and say, choose a different amp model). Hiding them just takes them off the screen so you can keep things looking tidy and efficient.

I would also keep that USB drive disconnected (keep any un-needed stuff of the USB bus so your Mbox isn't sharing the bus). Hopefully, you are not recording to that drive as USB drives are not supported or recommended. Look inside your computer case as you may have room for more internal drives, which give the best performance, AND cost the least
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2010, 07:42 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkle View Post
Im doing some recording using the mbox2 involving guitar/bass into the DI inputs of the mbox. It seems to handle everything fine until i started adding more and more tracks. At first the clicking and popping was only when i was recording with the h/w buffer size at 64, and would then go away for playback when i set the h/w buffer size at the max, 2048. I have roughly 12 audio tracks for guitars, all using the Eleven free plugin. Is there any way to get this to stop? It makes it fairly hard to mix while its popping and clicking all the way through. Also, it is apparently only clicking/popping during playback on the BASS track i just recorded. However the clicking seemed to start during record, at h/w buffer 64, when i got to around 10 guitar tracks. All other tracks seem fine with the h/w buffer size at max. Im running Pro Tools 8 on PC. Sorry i dont have computer specs =/ Any help would be greatly appreciated.
12 instances of Eleven free should not be a problem, even at a buffer of 64. My own Q6600 can do this using only 58% of the CPU at a buffer of 64. Session sample rate will definitely affect the amount of plug-in instances you can run. What is your session sample rate?

Another situation that can affect the amount of plug-in instances is the type of track. Are your audio tracks mono or stereo?

If your mixing, set your buffer at 1024, not 2048. Also, limit your Open-Ended record Allocation to 5-10 minutes: Setup > Preferences... > Open-Ended Record Allocation > Limit to: 10 minutes. That will give your system a noticeable performance boost when your CPU usage is running very high. Playback/Record etc will respond faster.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:09 PM
Funkle Funkle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

My cpu meter is about 65%. I have it set to 3 cores right now.

Just set my sample rate to 1024 and still getting the popping.

If I hide the tracks will I still be able to hear them and adjust them for playback/mixing?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:34 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,677
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkle View Post
My cpu meter is about 65%. I have it set to 3 cores right now.

Just set my sample rate to 1024 and still getting the popping.

If I hide the tracks will I still be able to hear them and adjust them for playback/mixing?
well no, you need to print those tracks to audio first as Albee described.
or you could copy the dry guitar track to another track, copy the settings from Eleven to the AudioSuite version and process the track.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:42 PM
Funkle Funkle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Clicking and Popping Noise

excuse my "newb-ness" but how do I "print" the tracks?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popping/Crackling/Clicking Noise with no session open RobMacfarlane macOS 7 07-05-2013 11:31 PM
clicking/popping noise during playback kingof6strings 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 04-12-2010 03:42 PM
Popping/Clicking/Audible Noise Recording/Playback ByronVader Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-13-2006 08:26 PM
DIGI- What's with the B4 clicking & popping? Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-17-2004 02:57 PM
Clicking Popping HELP!!! HR123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-21-2003 01:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com