Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2018, 05:03 PM
Courtlaw Courtlaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 103
Default Unable to write CC automation data in real time

I recorded a midi track and now I want to go back and automate CC1 (Mod wheel)in real time using my midi controller. When the automation tab is in READ mode and I play back the midi track I can hear the mod wheel control the volume in real time. However whenever I play back the track in WRITE mode for recording the automation data I am unable to write anything. It's as if Pro Tools is not recognizing my controller during write, latch or touch mode.

Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.
__________________
- Steve

2013 iMac Late model i7 3.5 Ghz quad-core, 24 gigs ram, OSX 10.12.3
PC slave, i7 6700 4.0 Ghz quad-core, 64 gigs ram, SSD drives running VE Pro 6
Multiple external thunderbolt SSD hard drives
UAD Apollo Twin Duo with Quad Satellite Thunderbolt
Pro Tools 12.8.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2018, 06:05 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,493
Default Re: Unable to write CC automation data in real time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Courtlaw View Post
I recorded a midi track and now I want to go back and automate CC1 (Mod wheel)in real time using my midi controller. When the automation tab is in READ mode and I play back the midi track I can hear the mod wheel control the volume in real time. However whenever I play back the track in WRITE mode for recording the automation data I am unable to write anything. It's as if Pro Tools is not recognizing my controller during write, latch or touch mode.

Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Hi,


Mod wheel is written as midi data not automation data. need to arm a new midi track and write it, then you could merge it onto one track if you wanted.


Or you draw it in using the midi edit window





Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2018, 09:11 PM
Courtlaw Courtlaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 103
Default Re: Unable to write CC automation data in real time

Thanks for the reply Chris I will try that.

I also have a CC controller that is configured to control any CC data I want, such as CC1, CC11, etc. Can that kind of midi data be automated using the WRITE function under the original midi track? If not then, then out of curiosity, what kind of midi automation data can you write in real time using a midi controller under the CC lanes of the original track? In other words, what is the WRITE, LATCH, TOUCH used for in midi tracks if something as basic as mod wheel data cannot be used there?
__________________
- Steve

2013 iMac Late model i7 3.5 Ghz quad-core, 24 gigs ram, OSX 10.12.3
PC slave, i7 6700 4.0 Ghz quad-core, 64 gigs ram, SSD drives running VE Pro 6
Multiple external thunderbolt SSD hard drives
UAD Apollo Twin Duo with Quad Satellite Thunderbolt
Pro Tools 12.8.7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2018, 11:26 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,493
Default Re: Unable to write CC automation data in real time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Courtlaw View Post
Thanks for the reply Chris I will try that.

I also have a CC controller that is configured to control any CC data I want, such as CC1, CC11, etc. Can that kind of midi data be automated using the WRITE function under the original midi track? If not then, then out of curiosity, what kind of midi automation data can you write in real time using a midi controller under the CC lanes of the original track? In other words, what is the WRITE, LATCH, TOUCH used for in midi tracks if something as basic as mod wheel data cannot be used there?

Hi,


Yes you can automate midi control information, but its separate from the automation like on audio tracks. if you're on an instrument track then you'll have midi control data and some general track automation control for volume / pan / mute etc.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2018, 01:54 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Unable to write CC automation data in real time

Indeed^^^ Sometimes its tough to figure out which CC is the one you really want, so try any until you manage to get the correct one. Since(as said already) its midi data, I would enable Midi Merge and put the instrument track in record and try updating the CC info that way(and maybe delete all breakpoints before entering record). Midi is sometimes much less intuitive than audio
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to write automation bikkuri Getting Started 2 08-03-2017 05:42 PM
Can I Record Real-Time Expression/Mod Data in MIDI Tracks? MogDog Pro Tools 10 4 10-25-2013 05:46 AM
real time automation jahlive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-30-2009 11:56 PM
Waves real time automation ToddSmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-07-2005 09:59 AM
Automation Real-Time Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-06-2004 09:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com