Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2010, 06:27 PM
acrisisofsound acrisisofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 10
Default Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

Hoping someone can help. Using Pro Tools 8.0.3 on a Mac Pro with the complete toolkit installed. Just finished a session and trying to export the whole session as OMF or AAF so the dubbing mixer can work from my pre mixed session but the option to export this way is greyed out. I've selected all the tracks in the session which are all audio files, selected File, Export, but the only option available is 'Session info as text...'

I thought with the complete production toolkit this option is available?
Running out of time and starting to pull my hair out.
Any help would be much appreciated!

Ste
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2010, 06:39 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

Did you install Digitranslator?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2010, 06:44 PM
acrisisofsound acrisisofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 10
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

hey thanks for quick reply.

I thought the complete production toolkit did the same thing as the digitranslator but I'm guessing you're about to tell me I'm wrong!
I did have digitranslator prior to buying the complete production toolkit but never used it. Got it free when I completed a Pro Tools course.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2010, 06:56 PM
Tragic Dog Tragic Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 254
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

yes, pre PT9 you need digistranslator installed. (ie pt8 and earlier) That allows import/export of OMF/AAF for PT LE.
__________________
Jon Lillie
Behind the Light Productions
PT 10-CPTK-Motu Traveler v1
Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz Quad-Core, 14gigs of ram
Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, 2.3Ghz i7, 16gigs of ram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2010, 07:16 PM
acrisisofsound acrisisofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 10
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

I'm confused because I've checked my iLok account and it states I've got Digitranslator on my iLok and the expiration date is set to never.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2010, 04:06 AM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 618
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by acrisisofsound View Post
I'm confused because I've checked my iLok account and it states I've got Digitranslator on my iLok and the expiration date is set to never.
Make sure that the OMF.dll is present inside the Applications/Digidesign Folder/ProTools Folder.The licence asset on the ilok is one thing and the presence of the .dll is another one
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2010, 08:12 AM
JKD99 JKD99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

Just curious, but if the dubbing mixer will be working from your predub session, then why are you bothering with making an OMF of it? Why not just provide the session and media?

Best,

Joe
__________________
Joe Milner
Puget Sound, Inc.
Los Angeles

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2010, 06:55 PM
paranerd paranerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada
Posts: 282
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKD99 View Post
Just curious, but if the dubbing mixer will be working from your predub session, then why are you bothering with making an OMF of it? Why not just provide the session and media?

Best,

Joe
+1. Much better to give session.
__________________
The Postman Post-Production Studio
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada

IMDb (very partial)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2010, 04:55 AM
s0und80y s0und80y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne AU
Posts: 169
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paranerd View Post
+1. Much better to give session.
Maybe there mixing on another system..
I have to give my pre-mixes as AAF' as the movie i'm working is mixed on a Fairlight.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2010, 06:23 AM
JKD99 JKD99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Export as OMF/AAF unavailable?

Could very well be, but in that case is all the info carried over when you export FROM Pro Tools?
__________________
Joe Milner
Puget Sound, Inc.
Los Angeles

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASIO4ALL - Unavailable?? Wyn Windows 2 09-05-2011 06:41 AM
Unavailable fades Stickist Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 04-04-2006 06:05 PM
Outputs unavailable stevegalante Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-09-2005 10:54 AM
"DSP Unavailable" (oh but it is....) Hive Guy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-08-2005 09:42 AM
Last voice unavailable kcreature Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-25-2000 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com