Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2010, 09:04 PM
AlainZagar AlainZagar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47
Default Restart Protools quickly after a crash

This may be helpful to others.

I've noticed that I can get around having to reboot my computer when Protools crashes. I've noticed that in the task manager in Windows, Protools tends to stick around for ever it seems once it crashes. You can try to manually kill the task all you want but there is nothing you can do to kill Protools. It seems to die when it want's to and that can be many minutes.

I've discovered that once Protools crashes, it I pull the USB cable out from my MIDI controller or simply turn the power off on my midi controller, then this speeds up the shutdown of Protools - it's almost instantaneous. I can immediately restart Protools and get back to work without a reboot.

On my system this means switching off the power to my Axiom 61.

You should try it next time with your setup instead of rebooting your computer, it may just save you having to wait around for a complete system restart. There doesn't appear to be any lingering problems using this approach.

Alain
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2010, 09:16 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Restart Protools quickly after a crash

I noticed this as well, only for me I shut off my Profire 2626 and usually immediately PT unloads and I can open again without a reboot. Funny that I did it tonight and then I saw your post.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:29 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: Restart Protools quickly after a crash

I dont know? When ever my Pro Tools Crashes it takes me 15 minutes to get it back up, Thats because I reboot the computer, log back in, then Delete the Databases Folder, Delete the DAE Pref Folder then I do a Disk Clean Up then Reboot the whole computer and only then do I try and reload Pro Tools, The reason I do all of this is because if Pro Tools crashes it crashed for some reason, I figure what ever made it crash is in The DAE Pref Folder so I dont want to reload with that corrupt info in the DAE Pref Folder, If IM going to Delete DAE Pref folder I might as well delete the Databases folder, and then I dont want to have those bad folders any place in my computer so I do a Disk Clean Up and Delete everything in The Temp Folders and Recycle Bin I do this to make sure nothing that could have lead to the crash is going to reload into Pro Tools, So then I Reboot to make sure I have a clean restart of Pro Tools and IM done, I know this seems like allot but I allways want to make sure I have the clean reload and the most stable Pro Tools session possible. Just My Two Cents.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)*
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SATA Internal OS 480GB SSD, Record 480GB SSD, 1TB and 750GB External Glyph GT 050Q 500GB HD
AVID Digi 003 Console x 2
AVID Pro Tools 2019.12
JBL LSR4328P Studio Monitors
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 16GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD, 480GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash when dragging soundfile from Finder, can't restart. voxone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-12-2010 02:58 AM
Pro Tools le 8 + 002 rack = computer restart and crash Simto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-25-2010 07:26 AM
Protools keeps telling me to restart BNegative 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-08-2007 01:58 PM
HELP! Protools keeps forcing me to restart my mac Rise_Above 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-26-2007 06:34 PM
Pro Tools causes system crash and restart Cayotic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-04-2005 11:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com