Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-28-2018, 07:07 PM
M2E M2E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Kakalaka
Posts: 949
Default Re: Upgrade - Pro Tools HD 8 to 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey View Post
Hi All
I am following this thread. I am also looking at upgrading from HD 8->HD10.

My system runs great:
2009 MacPro 4.1 -> 5.1
32 gig ram
Snow Leopard or Lion (both run great)
192, loaded
HD1 ( maybe upgrade)
I do mostly Sound Design, Post, some recording.
In the box.

My Questions:

What are the Major benefits of moving to HD 10?
Would I benefit from upgrading TDM cards? HD2 HD3?
Or simply stay where I am?
Same, looking to upgrade as well.
I do know the benefits which are Clip Gain, Using Ram for sessions etc.
As far as being able to run more cards, don't really need to but, it would help with always going back and forth with changing the track count when mixing.
When I do get PTHD10, I will buy 4 cards as I have an HD3 now and a Magma Chasis and I'm done.

Marc
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66ghz/PTHD3-10.3.10/OS 10.9.5/192 /16 Gigs Of RAM

New YouTube Channel https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaZYp2wNomc
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-29-2018, 07:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,234
Default Re: Upgrade - Pro Tools HD 8 to 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey View Post
Hi All
I am following this thread. I am also looking at upgrading from HD 8->HD10.


My Questions:

What are the Major benefits of moving to HD 10?
Would I benefit from upgrading TDM cards? HD2 HD3?
Or simply stay where I am?
What are the Major benefits of moving to HD 10? Clip Gain alone is worth the price for heavy editing(which you probably do). Regardless of upgrading PT software, convert any older SD II sessions to wave(SD II files are not read on the newer systems).


Would I benefit from upgrading TDM cards? HD2 HD3? Maybe. Do you ever run out of voices or plugin processing power? Modern native systems on current computers usually have more horsepower than even HD3. If you NEED more horsepower, second-hand Accel cards are a bargain, these days





Or simply stay where I am? If it ain't broke....why fix it?


Last 2 cents; moving to PT10 and adding cards would give you more power, Clip Gain and compatibility with others running newer systems, which would make moving projects back and forth with other studios much easier. That's all I have to offer. Maybe others will have more reasons to help you decide
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-01-2018, 06:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,469
Default Re: Upgrade - Pro Tools HD 8 to 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey View Post
Hi All
I am following this thread. I am also looking at upgrading from HD 8->HD10.

My system runs great:
2009 MacPro 4.1 -> 5.1
32 gig ram
Snow Leopard or Lion (both run great)
192, loaded
HD1 ( maybe upgrade)
I do mostly Sound Design, Post, some recording.
In the box.

My Questions:

What are the Major benefits of moving to HD 10?
Would I benefit from upgrading TDM cards? HD2 HD3?
Or simply stay where I am?
Hi,

I think your system runs great with PTHD8.1.1 and you're thinking this whole thing backwards. You should first buy two second-hand Accel cards for an upgrade, and then maybe think whether you want to mess up with your system.

I would actually leave it as it is, because the upgrade isn't so cheap and when you really need more horsepower you would likely be thinking of whole new computer and native processing anyway.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-05-2018, 07:40 AM
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 279
Default Re: Upgrade - Pro Tools HD 8 to 10

Thanks for the replies.

Agree, Upgrading cards seems the best option at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-05-2018, 09:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,469
Default Re: Upgrade - Pro Tools HD 8 to 10

PTHD 8.1.1 on Snow Leopard 10.6.8 is one of the most stable combinations known to man, so have fun adding cards and disks to your system
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools LE to Pro Tools 10 Upgrade Activation Card (+PT11 upgrade) bonwild Buy & Sell 0 06-17-2013 12:27 PM
Pro Tools 10 Student Version- To upgrade, or not to upgrade? KFPCalvin Pro Tools Software (Win) 4 04-12-2012 09:37 AM
Pro tools 8.04cs2 upgrade, Pro tools wont launch! Please help me! ohyoshimi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-20-2011 12:15 AM
Q: If I recently purchased a Pro Tools LE software upgrade—how do I obtain Pro Tools dmm Pro Tools 9 0 11-12-2010 11:14 AM
Upgrade to Pro Tools 8 (with upgrade dvd) asking for Auth code? (HELP) Mista808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-12-2010 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com