Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2010, 05:55 PM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Thumbs up PT9 No Audio (windows 7 laptop) Help please! **SOLVED**

Hi guys and gals,

I've got a windows 7 laptop and I installed PT 9 on it fresh. I have ASIO4ALL installed on my laptop from when I had reaper on it.

Here is my dilemma. I can get PT 9 to open up just fine and play a session without any problems except for one. I can't hear the audio from my laptop speakers. If I uninstall the ASIO4ALL driver PT 9 says it can't find the audio device and to turn it on.

I don't have any kind of installed on my laptop other than whatever the factory speakers that came with it. Am I missing something here? I tried to configure ASIO4ALL and just can't get any audio to play.

Any help would be kindly appreciated! Thanks a lot,

Tom
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory

Last edited by wuzlow; 11-24-2010 at 04:40 PM. Reason: Solved the problem
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2010, 09:24 AM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default Re: PT9 No Audio (windows 7 laptop) Help please!

Never mind, I figured it out!
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2010, 09:32 AM
Sharmel Sharmel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 16
Default Re: PT9 No Audio (windows 7 laptop) Help please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuzlow View Post
Never mind, I figured it out!
Share?!?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2010, 09:39 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: PT9 No Audio (windows 7 laptop) Help please!

Yes, please share as ASIO4ALL ruins my system every time I install it.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:39 PM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default Re: PT9 No Audio (windows 7 laptop) Help please! **SOLVED**

Sorry guys, I never saw that you two posted wanting to know how.

Well if anyone still needs help with it, this is what I found out.

When you have a Pro Tools session opened up, go to Setup -> I/O and click on the bus tab. Across the outputs 1 & 2 (on the left hand side) you should see your "audio device" listed. If you click on it I had two options to choose from...

Hp-Out 1-2 (Stereo)
Speaker/HP 1-2 (Stereo)

When I chose "Speaker/HP 1-2 (stereo)" I could hear everything from my laptop speakers.

The options could be different for you depending on what type of speaker system you have for your laptop. I have a Dell Vostro 3700 with windows 7 32 bit installed. So far, it's rock solid for me.

Also just a side note, I do have ASIO4ALL installed on my laptop as well, but I didn't change any settings with it during this process. Hope this helps!

Tom
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Interface for ASUS Windows 7 Laptop Darzel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-27-2011 05:26 PM
PT9 Windows Laptop Bangha Pro Tools 9 0 11-07-2010 04:45 PM
Windows laptop onboard audio? mike_mccue Pro Tools 9 5 11-06-2010 11:18 AM
USB Audio Device is not compatible with this version of Windows (Vista Laptop). jphaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-04-2010 07:09 PM
PT 6.4 on a Windows XP Laptop OddsAre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-16-2007 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com