Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2018, 03:25 PM
amscheme amscheme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: cincinnati OH
Posts: 47
Default Mbox not recognized

I have a 2009 iMac running Mac OS X 10.7.5 and pro tools 10.3 HD, when I plug my mbox mini 2 into the USB port, the light doesn’t even come on on my mbox, the mbox isn’t bad I just tested it with another computer and I have tried to search compatibility issues with the computer and can’t find anywhere that says it wouldn’t work and even so I would assume the power light on the mbox would come on still, anybody have this issue before? I’ve tried it on all the computers USB ports and other things plug into them fine and are recognized.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2018, 03:35 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

Is this a new computer?

If not, did it ever work on it before?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2018, 04:28 PM
amscheme amscheme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: cincinnati OH
Posts: 47
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

It is a new computer for me, just got it today
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2018, 05:50 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

Have you installed the drivers for the Mbox?

It’s been a looooong time since I used one of those interfaces, but I’m wondering if it needs the driver installed to even be recognised. This might explain the lack of power light.

Tried a different cable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2018, 07:22 PM
amscheme amscheme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: cincinnati OH
Posts: 47
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

I’ll see if I can google a driver to download, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2018, 07:57 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

Quote:
Originally Posted by amscheme View Post
I’ll see if I can google a driver to download, thanks


Well you’re going to need it to run Pro Tools. It’s not a class compliant device.

Surprised you didn’t have it installed from the get go.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2018, 08:05 PM
amscheme amscheme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: cincinnati OH
Posts: 47
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

Well I installed pro tools from the folder I assumed it had all the drivers in it, there is installers for the mbox in the folder but when I click on those it gives me another error saying that the external Device (mbox) has never been connected.
Maybe I just need to buy a newer mbox, mine is pretty old I just love the monitor mute button on mine and the model after mine doesn’t have that that I see...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2018, 09:50 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,270
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

Try installing a driver from the Mbox 2 Mini Drivers page (maybe starting with 9.0).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2018, 04:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,170
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

Also make sure the Mbox is plugged in to the computer before you start the computer up. Hot plugging something doesn't always work right.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2018, 08:41 PM
amscheme amscheme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: cincinnati OH
Posts: 47
Default Re: Mbox not recognized

Thanks appreciate the info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 pro not recognized johnny_78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-05-2013 05:23 AM
Mbox 2 Pro not recognized dlflowers macOS 10 10-13-2011 04:16 AM
MBox 2 Pro not being recognized. . . LogicalAnalysis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-03-2011 12:55 PM
mbox 2 pro not recognized at all BLOATUS Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-17-2008 02:08 AM
MBox 2 not recognized by XP -- HELP!!!!! Ashlee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-27-2006 01:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com