Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:21 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,739
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
https://youtu.be/xNrG2mwt4Uo

Worth a watch, if you like unboxing videos... which reminds me, Apple need 24" clearance for the rack rails, anyone tried to squeeze them into a 600mm deep rack?
I’m guessing it won’t work. I would imagine that the 24” clearance would need to be between the front and rear rack rails not the rack itself. It doesn’t look like the Apple rack rail depth is adjustable, unlike the Sonnet Xmac Pro Server which is a shame.

The same guy has posted a second nMP video https://youtu.be/Iq9vZP4TDcA
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:23 AM
Peterjk's Avatar
Peterjk Peterjk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 341
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akimarconi View Post
Hello community!
Mac Pro 7.1 / 16 Core / 32GB Ram owner here.
It’s dead silent, no problems whatsoever with PTHDX card and PT Ultimate 19.12.

Hey Akimarconi
  • Does the noise from the HDX Cards fan bother you?
  • How far away is your Mac Pro (Rack mount or regular)?
  • What buffer size can you run with on a 150+ tracks session with 3-6 plugins?
Could I provide you with a session (my biggest one from 2019) in order to see how a 16-core 7.1 with on HDX would handle that?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,836
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
It doesn’t look like the Apple rack rail depth is adjustable
Well I wouldn't know but if that is the case then you absolutely need to buy rack as per Apple specification. FWIW, every single rack installation I have made have had adjustable rack rails. Would be stupid to have fixed rack rails because no 3rd party rack is so perfect.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:29 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,739
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Well I wouldn't know but if that is the case then you absolutely need to buy rack as per Apple specification. FWIW, every single rack installation I have made have had adjustable rack rails. Would be stupid to have fixed rack rails because no 3rd party rack is so perfect.
Looking at this : https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guid...d56f1382d3/mac

It looks like the rails might be adjustable but presumably not less than 24”. I don’t know - it’s not very clear.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,836
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Looking at this : https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guid...d56f1382d3/mac

It looks like the rails might be adjustable but presumably not less than 24”. I don’t know - it’s not very clear.
The rail is in three pieces so I would be very surprised if it cannot fit sub-24" rack
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,836
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)



This pic IMO says it will fit
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:28 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 818
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Hmm, I measured my rack and it's only 480mm from the front to back strips – the 600mm dimension is the rack frame itself. It's hard to actually tell how well the new Mac Pro would “just fit” because Apple doesn't give the depth of the front handle. Right now the non-rack version looks like it's a better fit, which is frustrating...
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:41 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,836
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
Hmm, I measured my rack and it's only 480mm from the front to back strips – the 600mm dimension is the rack frame itself. It's hard to actually tell how well the new Mac Pro would “just fit” because Apple doesn't give the depth of the front handle. Right now the non-rack version looks like it's a better fit, which is frustrating...
dude, if your rack is missing 12cm it's not gonna fit
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:49 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 818
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
dude, if your rack is missing 12cm it's not gonna fit

My rack dimensions are 600mm front to back, 480mm strip to strip. The rack Mac Pro is 539.5mm front to back including handles. So, depending on the depth of the handles, I reckon it will fit on a shelf without hanging out the actual back of the rack.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:50 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,836
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Okay then, misunderstood you. The rack rails certainly *look* like they are short enough
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com