Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2020, 04:56 AM
The Saxplayer The Saxplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 81
Default Importing Audio vs Session Data

Hi,
I could not figure out a proper title for this thread but here is my issue.
I have added audio from another drive to a session (without copying it unfortunately) that will obviously only show up if that drive is connected.

I have made a "copy to" of the entire session which copies all audio to a new session but I was wondering if there is a command to bring the audio from the other drive to the audio folder of the current session without the need to copy.

Furthermore I have started to work with a template and when I import session data to match tracks with my template tracks the audio is not copied but remains in the original session which brings me back to my initial question.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Georges
__________________
Thanks very much

Georges
The Saxplayer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,716
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Saxplayer View Post
I have made a "copy to" of the entire session which copies all audio to a new session but I was wondering if there is a command to bring the audio from the other drive to the audio folder of the current session without the need to copy.
Copy without copying? Not that I know of.

But if you did copy the audio file(s) to your session folder and disconnected the original source drive, then next time you open session it says this and that file cannot be found and asks you to relink. Then you can tell PT to search your session folder and it should find the manually copied files from there, because all files have unique ID that does not change when you manually copy the file from external drive to your session folder.

Makes sense?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:23 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Copy without copying? Not that I know of.

But if you did copy the audio file(s) to your session folder and disconnected the original source drive, then next time you open session it says this and that file cannot be found and asks you to relink. Then you can tell PT to search your session folder and it should find the manually copied files from there, because all files have unique ID that does not change when you manually copy the file from external drive to your session folder.

Makes sense?
If bringing in just a couple of "new" audio files, I quite often just check that all audio has the current session location selected in the disk allocation window, then just select the new audio in the edit window & press "Option+Shift+3".
Of course this will only consolidate the clip not the entire parent audio file.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 12.5 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.9.1 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:35 AM
The Saxplayer The Saxplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 81
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Thanks. I have manually copied audio files into a session now and Protools did find them.

However I have a large project where I fear that I might miss some, so I was hoping there was an option to consolidate everything together.

Consolidating the track using option+shift+3 is a neat workaround since it creates a new file in the folder of the audio session.

That is at least one good solution, and you only keep what you need. Which may be an issue if you need to go back to select different audio ...

Cheers
__________________
Thanks very much

Georges
The Saxplayer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2020, 05:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,716
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
If bringing in just a couple of "new" audio files, I quite often just check that all audio has the current session location selected in the disk allocation window, then just select the new audio in the edit window & press "Option+Shift+3".
Of course this will only consolidate the clip not the entire parent audio file.
Sure, that's a quick and dirty way of doing that. Of course, a new file is created with a new ID but who cares, gets the job done. What I suggested brings in the whole original audio with few clicks.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2020, 06:53 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Sure, that's a quick and dirty way of doing that. Of course, a new file is created with a new ID but who cares, gets the job done. What I suggested brings in the whole original audio with few clicks.
I agree JF.
Maybe the op should just save copy in to consolidate his situation . . ?
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 12.5 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.9.1 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2020, 06:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,716
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
I agree JF.
Maybe the op should just save copy in to consolidate his situation . . ?
Maybe. Depends how many files are out there. If just a few, fixing the session is faster. IF most of the files are on externals however, Save Copy In is very straightforward
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2020, 09:20 AM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

I like to open the Workspace Browser Window (option+semicolon),

click on the session icon on the left pane, then click on the "Audio Files" folder;

from the columns generated in the right pane, click on "Path" to sort by Path.

From here it is easy to see audio files that are outside of your main session folder. You can select them all, them right-click on one of them and choose "copy and relink". Choose where you want the new copies to be (presumably within your main session folder), and... There they go.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2020, 03:29 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhatley View Post
I like to open the Workspace Browser Window (option+semicolon),

click on the session icon on the left pane, then click on the "Audio Files" folder;

from the columns generated in the right pane, click on "Path" to sort by Path.

From here it is easy to see audio files that are outside of your main session folder. You can select them all, them right-click on one of them and choose "copy and relink". Choose where you want the new copies to be (presumably within your main session folder), and... There they go.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
What I like about this workflow:

(1) it is immediately evident, without any hunting/pecking, what files are from outside your session folder.

(2) you can choose to copy and relink these files to an organized folder (e.g., "cues from composer") if that's important for you.

(3) you get the full file, so no loss of heads and tails that would result from consolidating

(4) you can keep your original session with all of your previous versions and session file backups, which may go by the wayside if you were to instead do a "Save Copy As..."

It's easy, flexible, and built-in to pro tools.

G.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2020, 03:54 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Importing Audio vs Session Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhatley View Post
What I like about this workflow:

(1) it is immediately evident, without any hunting/pecking, what files are from outside your session folder.

(2) you can choose to copy and relink these files to an organized folder (e.g., "cues from composer") if that's important for you.

(3) you get the full file, so no loss of heads and tails that would result from consolidating

(4) you can keep your original session with all of your previous versions and session file backups, which may go by the wayside if you were to instead do a "Save Copy As..."

It's easy, flexible, and built-in to pro tools.

G.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk


I fully concur.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 12.5 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.9.1 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waveforms increase in size when importing audio file as session data import myeviltwin Pro Tools 2018 4 02-10-2018 03:20 PM
PT 11.3 no longer importing audio files along with session data jsbeeth Pro Tools 11 3 02-25-2017 05:28 AM
Can't find 16 bit audio files when Importing Session Data DavidCaporale macOS 0 04-23-2015 09:50 AM
MBox - importing session data, missing audio!? spike.mk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-08-2009 09:42 AM
Problems importing audio, session data, etc. essay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-12-2006 11:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com