Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-21-2018, 01:16 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: Mogami for recording or save money??

BTW, maybe a Mod should move this to the General section of the DUC
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2018, 12:08 AM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: Mogami for recording or save money??

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
BTW, maybe a Mod should move this to the General section of the DUC
Maybe you should either try and and help with the topic or just dont say nothing at all
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-24-2018, 02:18 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: Mogami for recording or save money??

Quote:
Originally Posted by primomusic View Post
Maybe you should either try and and help with the topic or just dont say nothing at all
Ew man, that was rude. Albee is helping your topic get more attention. Did you see where you decided to ask about cables? In the legacy products section!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-24-2018, 02:35 AM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: Mogami for recording or save money??

I wouldn't spend the money on Mogami personally. It's high quality cable, but if you're on a budget, Canare is pretty standard.

I've even used GLS with good results. GLS is easier to work with if you're into DIY too.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.3
Intel NUC6i7KYK
16GB Kingston HyperX RAM
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe SSD
Digigrid IOX
DiGiGrid D
Waves Soundgrid Server One
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-24-2018, 09:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: Mogami for recording or save money??

To primomusic, I AM trying to help. 1 thing we all forgot to ask; what is the rest of the setup? The question about high-quality cable is valid, but what if the OP is using a $100 mic thru a Fast Track? Does that setup warrant expensive cables, or would the OP be better off spending money on a better mic, a better preamp or interface? I bought a custom Accusound 7-pin cable for my Miktek CV4 microphone and felt it was a worthwhile investment. But that's not something that would make sense when my "best" mic was a $299 MXL V69 The recording chain is only as good as the weakest link so consider all the links.

Re the Amazon ad, that price was for 6 cables? At that price, its very likely that the connectors are not Neutrik, but Chinese look-alikes. There are a few eBay sellers that are building fairly priced cables with quality parts. After buying at least a dozen HOSA and similar headphone extension cables, and having them constantly failing, I bought 8 custom-made cables with real Neutrik ends from an eBay seller and all of them are working perfectly a year later There are a few things that are really worth the higher price(to me). 2 of them are mic stands and cables. After buying On-Stage, D&R, Ultimate Support and Samson stands, D&R are the only stands worth owning(Ultimate Support are the worst because they cost like the best, but don't live up to the price). Get cables with a lifetime warranty or build your own
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-05-2018, 05:30 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: Mogami for recording or save money??

Redco. https://www.redco.com/

Their "Redco" brand cables are made from Mogami or Canare, I believe, and they sell for cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-08-2018, 11:35 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: Mogami for recording or save money??

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
BTW, maybe a Mod should move this to the General section of the DUC
Im sorry Albee I took that the wrong way. Thanks for trying to help I appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Recording Studio FOR SALE! Pro Toold Hd2 Accel, C24, Apple, Mogami, etc... sketchellis Buy & Sell 15 05-06-2013 06:27 PM
Save $$ tip: Before u waste money on a midi keyboard... TiKkO MIDI 5 03-10-2011 09:50 AM
Holy Crap!! An IBM X31 Laptop Works!! - Save MONEY!!!!!!! epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-12-2007 02:02 PM
TDM vs RTAS- save some money? bengineer Tips & Tricks 2 05-30-2007 06:09 AM
Digi try to save money? Rock_Artist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 07-14-2003 02:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com