Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-1999, 09:06 AM
foleym foleym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Doylestown, PA, USA
Posts: 25
Default 2940 & G3 & CDRW

Having only recently been introduced to the
MAC, I have a CDR (which may or may not be compatible, that's a seperate issue) which I
want connect to my G3.
I am running ProTools and have a 2940UW SCSI
accelerator as the interface to my ProTools
hard drive.
The MasterList CD documentation explicitly states that I should not connect my CDR to the SCSI accelerator. I sould connect it directly to the MAC SCSI bus.

I don't have a way to do that. The Drive and
CD drive are not SCSI. There is no SCSI connector.

Does this mean that I need another SCSI card?

Should I have bought a 2 channel SCSI card to begin with?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-1999, 10:38 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: 2940 & G3 & CDRW

The MLCD documentation is out of date. You can hook up your CDR to your SCSI card, but you need to observe the following guidelines:

All wide devices need to come before your CDR on the SCSI bus. Between the last wide device and your CDR, you need a 68 pin to 50 pin terminating adapter. Your CDR (if it's the last device on the chain) will need to be terminated.

Make sure you use the best SCSI cables you can, and try to keep the chain as short as possible.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-1999, 09:57 AM
KymataDigital KymataDigital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 116
Default Re: 2940 & G3 & CDRW

Steve,
Wouldn't hooking up a narrow, slower device to a wide connector with a fast device slow the performance of the wide drive?

Adaptec's 2940U2W has 68-pin external/internal and 50-pin internal just to avoid this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-1999, 11:06 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: 2940 & G3 & CDRW

Kymata,

No, actually it won't. The way SCSI works, only one device can control the bus at a time, and each device negotiates it's own separate transfer rate with the initiator (SCSI card). This means that the wide drive will perform at the maximum it's negotiated with the initiator, regardless of the presence of the narrow drive on the bus. Now, where this changes somewhat is in a scenario where you're attempting to access both a wide and narrow device "simultaneously." Since the narrow drive is transferring data at a rate at least half as much as the wide device, the wide device will have to wait longer to gain access to the bus. In this sense, your overall system performance be lower than if you were using all wide devices.

You are correct that the 2940XXX cards have a narrow connector on them. Since it's a single-channel card, the same bus usage issues would apply, but you'd have a cleaner connection by avoiding the adapter required to go from wide to narrow.

Hope this clarifies.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-1999, 07:36 PM
KymataDigital KymataDigital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 116
Default Re: 2940 & G3 & CDRW

Makes total sense, Steve.

Hence, the 64-bit path of the Adaptec 3940 dual-channel card.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-1999, 11:03 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: 2940 & G3 & CDRW

Kymata,

The 3940UW is actually -- in a manner of speaking -- 32 bits (two 16 bit busses), but you clearly see the distinction between the two cards.

I appreciate your posts. They bring up points that really help to clarify the confusion about SCSI.

Thanks.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-1999, 10:50 PM
KymataDigital KymataDigital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 116
Default Re: 2940 & G3 & CDRW

Oops! I was thinking about the Adaptec 3950U2B....it's 64-bit dual-channel.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-1999, 10:28 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: 2940 & G3 & CDRW

Oh, I getcha. When Adaptec refers to 64 bit with that card, they're talking about the PCI bus interface.

The SCSI bus(ses) are still 16 bit (wide SCSI).

So many bits, so little time.

--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tascam CDRW 750 vs. Standard CDRW Digitalkidd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 05-24-2005 11:08 AM
Steve, do 2940 U2W xork with B&W/400? Huby SEA Storage Subsystems 4 04-26-2000 11:10 PM
001+ barracuda+adaptec 2940+B/W 350? CV Storage Subsystems 2 02-01-2000 03:15 PM
2940 & CDRW connection foleym Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 11-30-1999 04:27 PM
2940 U2B help?????? JMaya Storage Subsystems 0 11-05-1999 04:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com