Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-19-2013, 05:09 AM
stratquebec stratquebec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Umm.... This thread begins to be very funny There's a lot of damn good engineers out there that are not serious at all

I think I once got a warning in Logic sayin' something like " You are about to use normalization. This function should be avoid if you are really serious about your work. Use it at your own risk."
__________________
iMac 27 inches , late 2012, Quad-core, 16 GB ram, Fusion Drive, 3,4 GHz Intel Core i7, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 Mo, OS X Yosemite 10.10.5, Digidesign MBox2 pro,thunderbolt adaptor, 800/400 FW cable.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-19-2013, 05:14 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Maybe I should have substituted "no serious engineer" with "Pro Tools engineer who knows what he's doing."
I was speaking in regard to PRO TOOLS not having a "normalize during bounce" function.
Noboby would normalize a real time bounce, when (if they chose to) they could normalize the bonuce in 3 seconds after the fact.
Maybe it makes some sort of sense in Logic, in that it could easily be undone/redone?
I don't really know.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-19-2013, 04:08 PM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewartFang View Post
No serious engineer I know of bounces to disk.
I haven't found a better way to get a 24 bit session to a 16 bit mix Stewie.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-20-2013, 02:25 AM
timeey timeey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 95
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Quote:
There's a lot of damn good engineers out there that are not serious at all
Well, iīm more interested in the craft of making music.. not fiddling around with technical issues like these. At the end of the day, does the end-consumer of music sit around and go "Hey, the engineer of this song really did a great job here".. no they donīt.

That being said, i do respect and admire those who really know the craft of engineering, itīs just too time-consuming to learn (at least all at once), and with that in mind itīs great to have something like Logic around so you can sound professional right away, WHILE you learn engineering at a reasonable pace alongside it.

Quote:
I think I once got a warning in Logic sayin' something like " You are about to use normalization. This function should be avoid if you are really serious about your work. Use it at your own risk."
Are you serious about this ?

Can someone tell me why "normalize" is so big and scary here?
Do they mean something like; "Use normalize at your own risk, cos you wonīt learn anything about engineering, and that might be a bad asset for the future"?

Because thatīs basically my ONLY bad thought about using Logic.. i feel bad that i am not learning about proper engineering.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-20-2013, 04:18 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Quote:
Originally Posted by timeey View Post

Are you serious about this ?

Can someone tell me why "normalize" is so big and scary here?
Do they mean something like; "Use normalize at your own risk, cos you wonīt learn anything about engineering, and that might be a bad asset for the future"?

Because thatīs basically my ONLY bad thought about using Logic.. i feel bad that i am not learning about proper engineering.
No, not being serious.
I'm just saying that I've never normalized a track, let alone a mix, in the 10 years I've been recording, and I don't personally know any PRO TOOLS engineers who use normalize.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-20-2013, 06:05 AM
timeey timeey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 95
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Quote:
I'm just saying that I've never normalized a track, let alone a mix, in the 10 years I've been recording, and I don't personally know any PRO TOOLS engineers who use normalize.
Well i donīt get it then. If itīs there why not use it?
Iīll normalize the hell out of my tracks.. sounds better!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-20-2013, 06:15 AM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 787
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Quote:
Iīll normalize the hell out of my tracks.. sounds better!
I think you mean 'louder' not 'better'!

Unless normalizing does something else to the sound that I don't know about?
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-20-2013, 06:19 AM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

This one goes to 11.
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-20-2013, 06:26 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

Quote:
Originally Posted by timeey View Post
Well i donīt get it then. If itīs there why not use it?
Iīll normalize the hell out of my tracks.. sounds better!
Many things are "there" that don't have to be used.

You seem pretty hung up on "louder is better."

I guess just turn everything up and you'll be all set?

To say "normalizing makes a track sound better" suggests it probably wasn't recorded too well to begin with.

Like I said, I don't personally know anyone that uses Pro Tools on a professional or semi professional level that normalizes individual tracks or mixes.

Last time I used normalize was in Cool Edit, maybe back in 1998.

But hey, that's just me. Normalize til you're blue in the face.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-20-2013, 06:38 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Going crazy over sound-quality in PT vs Logic

It's a matter of how we perceive audio. Louder almost always sound better to us. The problem being there is a ceiling in digital formats. So we have pretty much expect our songs to sound compressed and limited like crazy. And it's def not better.

In fact as crazy as it sounds if you'll mix lower, you'll be able to get louder punchier clearer final mixes. It's worth learning how this stuff works. You may not say to yourself, "wow this song is engineered really well." But if your heads bobbing to it you kind of are saying that.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
better quality power cable = better quality sound? dbvoyager General Discussion 22 04-15-2012 06:08 PM
No Sound - Going Crazy!!! Stixntrixx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-18-2011 04:44 PM
Crazy 002R, Samplerate/Logic Pro problem Liam M 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-13-2004 10:57 AM
sound quality difference btw. logic and ptle? yayogaak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-23-2000 11:06 AM
Pro Tools vs Logic: Sound Quality Zep Dude Tips & Tricks 0 11-16-1999 07:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com