Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2007, 12:20 PM
waterbedman waterbedman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

http://www.rocstor.com/index.cfm?fus...spRocPro800AVk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2007, 12:27 PM
Jim Casey Jim Casey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

http://www.topmicrousa.com/accessori...-gear-box.html

Just get one of these and put your own drive in it. You can always put another one in there that's bigger. I did three of these and put Seagate drives in 'em (takes two seconds to just plug 'em in) - cost me $180 total to do a 400 gig.

Don't waste your money!

Metal Gear Box - $40 on Ebay, 400 Gig Seagate $130 on Ebay - very very very fast and very very stylish and very very cost efficient.
__________________
Casey
You can hear what I'm doing at:
http://www.reverbnation.com/jimcasey
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2007, 01:02 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

Yeah, except those Metal Gear boxes don't have the Oxford911 chipset which is needed for PT compatibility, at least the 3500SEAP doesn't, I ended up with one somehow and the chipset definitely isn't Oxford. Not to mention it's very flimsy and extremely noisy as it has open vents all around the side of the enclosure.

You can get 400gb FW400 external enclosures from OWC for $165 that have the supported Oxford chipset, plus you have a warranty and an easy return route if you ever have problems.

LaCie drives are also very popular and have the correct chipset, but I'm not a big fan as they're also noisy and get hot very quickly. There's many many other threads about drive recommendations in the archives too, so a quick search will yeild you all kinds of info. Glyph is another option albeit a more pricey one. As for your Rocstor drives, they do have the Oxford chipset so it should be fine, so if you find one at a price you like go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2007, 01:04 PM
waterbedman waterbedman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

uh huh,

do the specs of those enclosures match the rocstor ones?

i am specifically concerned about builtin power supply.

i have about four hundred drives that i've built with different types of enclosures.

i am SICK of crappy external power supplies.

need to buy a glyph, avastor or rocstor.

please, any ifo from users of these drives?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2007, 01:11 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

Oh sorry. Like the other poster because of your limited initial thread I assumed you were looking for a drive recommendation and just stumbled across that one brand.

One of my clients has a Rocstor, although she's got in on a Gigastudio PC as a sample drive so we haven't ever tried it on a Mac.

It's very quiet, but the whole enclosure gets hot as hell, I guess it dissipates heat directly off the enclosure as opposed to drives with external power supplies where just the power brick gets hot, so it's literally burn-your-finger hot after it's been in use all day - and try working anywhere near it and you'll feel the heat radiating from it which isn't the greatest. It's been reliable peformance-wise despite the immense heat though, but I definitely prefer the normal 'Ice' enclosure types with external power bricks myself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:32 PM
Jim Casey Jim Casey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

Quote:
Yeah, except those Metal Gear boxes don't have the Oxford911 chipset which is needed for PT compatibility, at least the 3500SEAP doesn't, I ended up with one somehow and the chipset definitely isn't Oxford. Not to mention it's very flimsy and extremely noisy as it has open vents all around the side of the enclosure.

You can get 400gb FW400 external enclosures from OWC for $165 that have the supported Oxford chipset, plus you have a warranty and an easy return route if you ever have problems.

LaCie drives are also very popular and have the correct chipset, but I'm not a big fan as they're also noisy and get hot very quickly. There's many many other threads about drive recommendations in the archives too, so a quick search will yeild you all kinds of info. Glyph is another option albeit a more pricey one. As for your Rocstor drives, they do have the Oxford chipset so it should be fine, so if you find one at a price you like go for it.
Hey Slim, is that a mac specific thing (the oxford chip set)?

I have zero compatibility issues, the black box I have is very sturdy and vented. Our whole IT department uses them. Anyway, just my recommendation. On the PC, a hard drive is a hard drive as long as it is fast enough - at least 7200 rpm.
__________________
Casey
You can hear what I'm doing at:
http://www.reverbnation.com/jimcasey
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2007, 07:21 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

I know a few people that have been using the Rocstor drive with no complaints
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2007, 07:53 PM
Prodger Prodger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 25
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

I use two of them all the time. Built solid, and compact. I love the fact that the power supply is integrated, and they come with travel cases. They're great drives.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:10 PM
waterbedman waterbedman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

GREAT !

thanks you guys for the feedback.

i ordered my Rockstor today!

looking forward to getting it

because, my lacie needs to go back to the manufacturer to be fixed (only 6 months old!)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:16 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: ANYONE USING ROCSTOR DRIVES?

Find out which drive they use in their enclosure. Remember, they only make the housing, not the drive.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drives with PT. 7200 vs 10krpm internal drives with PT. External Fav's? LalamanPT Storage Subsystems 1 11-20-2010 02:29 PM
What drives are safe to defrag (system, project, sample drives) keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-08-2010 08:09 AM
Has anyone tried a Rocstor Firewire Drive? RCAinTN 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-10-2005 02:29 PM
Firewire Drives vs. ATA drives for Audio Playback and Recording Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 04-26-2003 12:59 AM
ANDRE & TOM: Adaptec cards to copy from SCSI drives to Firewire drives with G4/HD? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-11-2002 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com