Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:01 AM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 731
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Rack mountable ?
Nope.
I was a firm believer in rack mount until I started building PCs with Noctua DH14/15 CPU coolers, they just won’t fit in a 4 space rack. Might have been an issue to making things fit (and not everyone wants rack mount) with this Mac Pro. I actually think the Retro Cheesegrater looks pretty sharp.

FYI (and off topic): The big Noctua coolers are $80+, but my i9 9900K running at 4.7GHz is a steady 38C no matter what I’m doing. There was a British overclockers forum a few years back where their head OC cat blogged that the big Noctua coolers were actually as good or better than low to mid budget water coolers. He’s right and I don’t have to worry about a flood.

Last edited by Sugarnutz; 06-04-2019 at 03:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,332
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
And you get this how? Doesn't look like that in the presentation picture shown here. They show holes in the front of the chassis.
Check the dimensions from apple.com spec sheet... hard to fit the 21" front into 19" rack but 18" depth (a.k.a. top face of the box) is doable
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:18 AM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 48
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Well, since a few topics got merged into my original thread "New Mac Pro", i thought I would clarify a few things. I was joking when I said I would need to sell my house or get a mortgage to afford one, it was just a dig at the $6,000 base model, was hoping they would stay around $4,000 starting out.

I believe they might have hit it out of the park with this new model, the biggest gripe of the past version was expandability and dongle life, and that seems to be addressed. Now just some clarity about SSDs.

I was contemplating between upgrading my 2008 Mac Pro to a maxed out 2012 and locking down my HD3 or upgrading to a new mac pro, interfaces, and software by the end of the year. I really don't NEED a whole new system with that much power. I gave up running a proper studio about 6 years ago and only do my own projects and those of friends. Close, stable, drama free friends For 20 years now, I have always treated my system as a big tape machine, with effects processing, and minimal editing. You know coming in to it, if you can't play it right as a band with a few punch ins, it will suck, because i refuse to fix it. Mostly Hey, I come from the old board and tape machine days. But, there is always new software you want to check out and new gear is always being gassed over and bought, IT NEVER ENDS!

I was planning on staying around $8,000 for a new system, figuring the new Mac Pro was around $4,000 starting out, getting an interface in the $2,000-$3,000 range, and upgrading PT and some plugs. That $6,000 base price really shoots up the total cost. Wished they had started around $4,000 with less bells and whistles since us audio guys really don't need the all the graphics stuff. I think I'll just get a super maxed out 2012 mac pro ($1,500) and lock down my HD3, upgrade my 2012 MacBook pro to a nice newer one with thunderbolt 3 (under $2,000), get an Apollo ($2,500). All that for the $6,000 base model price. In 4-5 years, just pick up a nice used one for for a whole lot less. Still time before Fall to change your minds about the base model specs and it's price Apple
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:21 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,272
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Check the dimensions from apple.com spec sheet... hard to fit the 21" front into 19" rack but 18" depth (a.k.a. top face of the box) is doable
If you look carefully that's the total height with feet and handles. Take those off and there should be no problem fitting it in a standard rack with the airholes fore and aft. Take those off and you have a square case. And if Apple has a specific rack mount version which it sounds like it will according to the linked-to PTE article then the whole point becomes moot.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:34 AM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 48
Default Re: New Mac Pro

The rack mountable version is the same machine. The top handles and legs come off and it is fitted into a case that is 19 inch rackmountable looking at the pictures. The cooling vents are on the front and back of the machine so cooling is not a problem supposedly. There are even exhaust pipes coming off the processor that lead to the cooling vents according to the keynote.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,272
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmusic9 View Post
The rack mountable version is the same machine. The top handles and legs come off and it is fitted into a case that is 19 inch rackmountable looking at the pictures. The cooling vents are on the front and back of the machine so cooling is not a problem supposedly. There are even exhaust pipes coming off the processor that lead to the cooling vents according to the keynote.
Certainly a lot easier than sawing off the top and bottom handles on a 5,1 to rack mount it horizontally
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 06-04-2019, 01:06 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
They announced that Avid supports the new Mac Pro and mentioned the new box supports a HDX6 -- wow
True...
But with a mac with 28 cores multithreading at 56 running 4.4GHz speed on 1.5T of ram clocked at 2933MHZ. Why would one even need more than just a HDN card or one HDX. With the exception of needing the inputs and outputs of 6 HDX of coarse.
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 06-04-2019, 07:52 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,682
Default Re: New Mac Pro

and i need to get a new Power Service to my house / Studio for the 1.4 KiloWatt power supply .. !!!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 06-04-2019, 07:58 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
and i need to get a new Power Service to my house / Studio for the 1.4 KiloWatt power supply .. !!!


Yep and after it pops up with the first PT error message you will have to get a new studio glass b/c you will literally come unhinged after spending that much money and getting errors
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 06-04-2019, 08:00 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,682
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyr123 View Post
yep and after it pops up with the first pt error message you will have to get a new studio glass b/c you will literally come unhinged after spending that much money and getting errors
lolol
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com