Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2019, 02:12 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 731
Default A Little 2019.5 Testing



My test was made with a session of 38 mono/stereo tracks @ 44.1 KHz/24 bit, Avid Thunderbolt Native/Avid Omni. Pro Tools Ultimate set to 32 buffer and time line is about 4 mins set to loop playback. The PC specs are: Win 10 Pro 1809/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5/Gigabyte z390 Designare/i9 9900/64Gb RAM/Gigabyte R580 8Gb/1TB Crucial NVMe drive for OS & one for Audio/8Tb - 7200 RPM Seagate Enterprise drive for Samples/Two 4Tb - 5400 RPM drives, one Seagate, one WD Hybrid for Backups & Storage/ 43" Scepter 4K monitor/Apple TB3 to TB2 Adapter & 2M TB2 cable for Thunderbolt Native.


Across ALL tracks:
Insert 1 Waves CLA Mixbus
Insert 2 Avid/Focusrite FF D2 6-Band
Insert 3 Waves SSL Channel
Insert 4 Waves Aphex Vintage Exciter
Insert 5 Exponential Audio Pheonixverb
Insert 6 Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics
Insert 7 Avid/Focusrite FF D3 Compressor/Limiter
Insert 8 Waves VEQ4
Insert 9 McDSP P606 Filterbank EQ
Insert 10 Eiosis E2Deesser
(These plugins are in no particular order or have no significance as to CPU load, just picked at random.

10 mono buses to mono auxes:
Aux 1 Lexicon Random Hall
Aux 2 Relab LX480 Complete
Aux 3 Waves H-Verb Long
Aux 4 Waves Abbey Road Chamber
Aux 5 Waves Abbey Road Plate
Aux 6 Relab VSR S24
Aux 7 Soundtoys Echoboy
Aux 8 Waves IR1
Aux 9 Avid Reverb One
Aux 10 Eventide 2016 Reverb

Started out the test with just the CLA Mixbus across all channels and got a -9093 after 25-30 minutes of looped playback. Deactivated one ethernet port that was connected to the internet, 2nd ethernet port strictly hooked to D-Command was left active. Played for about 40 mins with no errors, I started adding plugins to all tracks at a time with no glitches whatsoever until I got to the McDSP P609 Filterbank EQ on insert #9 where I heard a small pop, then it threw a -9093 about 3 secs later. Finished the last insert and got a -9093 due to Eiosis having 5 days left on activation and stopping the system. I started playing again and added the 10 aux tracks, starting inserts with reverbs got to Abbey Road Plates and got another -9093. Restarted playback, added remaining reverbs on the auxes and have been playing for an 2 hours now with no errors. CPU running between 49-57% with core #8 taking the biggest hit, but still running at 32 buffer. No -9073 errors at all and this system has had it's share on 2018.12. After 3 hours the 32 buffer threw a -9093. At 64 buffer it looped for 6 hours before I called it quits.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2019, 03:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: A Little 2019.5 Testing

Interesting. I am finding I can now work sessions at the 64 buffer without stops or errors that would have popped up constantly in 2018.x. The 2 culprits in all previous PT versions were Melodyne and Ozone 8. Just adding or opening(existing) Ozone would stop playback and throw an error before. In 2019.5, it pops up on the screen and playback is seamless. I also see a much smaller change in the System Usage between the 64 and 1024 buffer settings.

All this and I am on an old X79 rig running a DIGI003rack
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2019, 06:49 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 731
Default Re: A Little 2019.5 Testing

I figure work a regular session at 64 buffer would run for days on this system without issue, 380 plugins across 38 tracks and stable for 6 hours of continuous playback impresses me and no -9073 makes me happy.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 Gui Lag manfromspace Pro Tools 2019 7 06-20-2019 01:59 AM
2019.8 amagras Pro Tools 2019 89 06-10-2019 12:40 AM
2019.5 is here!! LightWing Pro Tools 2019 37 05-16-2019 11:40 PM
Pt 2019 paldry Pro Tools 12 7 05-12-2019 04:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com