Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-30-2016, 06:45 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 170
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Anyone else getting the beachball and having to re-start Pro Tools when attempting to instantiate newer plugins, like Slate VMR, SoundToys S EQ or Eventide Room etc, on larger sessions? Is this a factor of the RAM limits of Pro Tools 10 HD or is there possibly something wrong with my system? Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.
I have the same problem with Eventide Precision Time Align and Sonnox Envolution. I am on 10.3.8/Mavericks/HD7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Definitely not everyone. Many pro's and studios are still using 10 TDM because it is a much better workflow than Native or HDX Pro Tools. Unfortunately, the fact that 32 bit PT 10 has problems is not news to anyone.
Quite right. And aside from the problems - of which there are many on 12 as well - practically all new AAX plug-ins support 32bit. So the list of available plug-ins for 10 just keeps growing (and much faster than the list of AAX DSP plug-ins, too...).
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-30-2016, 08:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,266
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Not looking for bug fixes, just some suggestions or thoughts about the problem because a lot of software is still available as 32 bit.
I'd be wary of putting much stock in this point as more and more developers are dropping 32 bit support from their product.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2016, 09:29 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicune View Post
FWIW Soundtoys Sie-Q is opening fine on my system, specs below. I don't have any of the other plugs you specifically mentioned but if there are others you're having the problem with list them and I will see if I have them. The only beachballing problems I've been having is when attempting to open audio suite plugs. I've not yet had time to sit down and try troubleshoot that issue yet as I've not been running this machine for very long and don't need audio suite frequently enough for it to be a showstopper for me.

OS 10.9.5, MacPro 5,1 12-core 3.06 GHz Westmere (2010), 32GB RAM, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3. All internal cards, no chassis.

Thanks for the info! I'll look at my plugins folder to see what other plugins might be causing a conflict. As I said though, I can open Sie-Q on smaller sessions, as well as Slate VMR. It's when the sessions get larger, close to 2.5 gigs on the activity manager, that the problem of loading these plugins rears it's head.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2016, 03:04 PM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 170
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

My problems start when the memory usage is 1.6GB but I have had a crash at 1.4GB with Precision Time Align. That's in a session with six or seven VI's (Battery 3 & 4) some of which are sitting idly.

In this particular session I am also getting out of CPU errors when doing things that have nothing to do with CPU usage like copying a TDM plug-in from one track to another.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-30-2016, 04:23 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by fm_xtk View Post
My problems start when the memory usage is 1.6GB but I have had a crash at 1.4GB with Precision Time Align. That's in a session with six or seven VI's (Battery 3 & 4) some of which are sitting idly.

In this particular session I am also getting out of CPU errors when doing things that have nothing to do with CPU usage like copying a TDM plug-in from one track to another.
The VI thing has been around for, unfortunately, a long time. Also, the random out of CPU messages were never fixed. Not sure if they were even fixed in the current version of Pro Tools. Could be wrong of course.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-30-2016, 04:25 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Just tried Sie-Q in a bigger session and it loaded. Maybe the newer version fixed that problem. Slate VMR still won't load in the larger session though. Why am I not surprised.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-01-2016, 01:25 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 170
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
The VI thing has been around for, unfortunately, a long time. Also, the random out of CPU messages were never fixed. Not sure if they were even fixed in the current version of Pro Tools. Could be wrong of course.
That's true. It's just that I have not been affected by them until now. Especially the CPU messages have not occured on my rig until now. The system was put together in spring of 2015. It feels as though s Pro Tools installation is a living thing which deteriorates over time.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-01-2016, 02:22 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Thanks for the info! I'll look at my plugins folder to see what other plugins might be causing a conflict. As I said though, I can open Sie-Q on smaller sessions, as well as Slate VMR. It's when the sessions get larger, close to 2.5 gigs on the activity manager, that the problem of loading these plugins rears it's head.
TBH I'm surprised you can even get sessions to run at that sort of memory usage. I know theoretical maximum is supposed to be 4GB but my in own experience it gets very flaky with GUI glitches and crashes before you even hit 2GB. But I've been slaving most of my VIs out to VEPro for 5+ years now so I don't really have to think about memory very much any more, especially after they introduced disk cache which runs as a separate process. I tried firing up what I considered to be my biggest sessions yesterday to test this for you and I couldn't find anything using more than 1.5 GB.
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-01-2016, 08:07 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicune View Post
TBH I'm surprised you can even get sessions to run at that sort of memory usage. I know theoretical maximum is supposed to be 4GB but my in own experience it gets very flaky with GUI glitches and crashes before you even hit 2GB. But I've been slaving most of my VIs out to VEPro for 5+ years now so I don't really have to think about memory very much any more, especially after they introduced disk cache which runs as a separate process. I tried firing up what I considered to be my biggest sessions yesterday to test this for you and I couldn't find anything using more than 1.5 GB.
Once again, thanks for the info and for trying that for me! Unfortunately I end up with big sessions all of the time. When we mix other people's stuff, especially Pop stuff, they get pretty darn big. I agree with the notion that Pro Tools might be a constantly evolving installation as has been stated. Getting a bit tired of the limited Delay Comp and Voices issue too. Oh well, could be that HDX is looming it's kinda ridiculous workaround head. If I make the leap, won't be too hard 'cause I already have the HDX card, I'll let you know what changes. Been stockpiling alternate plugins for awhile but there still aren't enough of them that are actually DSP to make the system work as a completely non Native system. I guess that that's just the state of the present day DAW world.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-02-2016, 05:37 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Yes many of us out here are feeling the pain of that looming decision.

Just out of curiosity - why are you leaning towards HDX rather than HDN (aside from the fact you already have the card!)
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 won't boot .... spinning beachball boogiemotel macOS 1 12-22-2011 10:48 AM
Spinning beachball ? albee1952 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-31-2010 12:35 PM
spinning beachball when I hit record beefstew Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-24-2007 01:40 AM
DP and spinning beachball audiobrad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-14-2005 07:45 AM
Spinning Beachball..... dropking Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-09-2004 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com