Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2016, 10:25 AM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 73
Default Focusrite scarlett 18i20

Anyone using this interface with pt 12/ el capitan? I cancelled my order for the saffire 56, and there is an offer on the scarlett 18i20 at the moment, and I'm curious if this will work on my imac 2010 regarding latency. I will, as things are now, not be tracking more than 8 tracks at a time. Please help me decide
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2016, 04:40 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: Focusrite scarlett 18i20

Hi, According to this:
Are Focusrite products compatible with El Capitan?, it should work.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2016, 03:36 PM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 73
Default Focusrite scarlett 18i20

Hi cwsand. I went for it and hooked it up today.. I have sound through my monitors from itunes, youtube and pro tools, so I guess everything is working fine.. now.. I'm still trying to figure out the mix control software .. I'm using my kemper via spdif, but can't get any sound through this labyrinth of routing .. well...maybe some beers and random button push will do the job at some point.. or maybe not :)

Thanks for your answer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2016, 04:50 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,033
Default Re: Focusrite scarlett 18i20

Quote:
Originally Posted by madselhoff View Post
I'm still trying to figure out the mix control software...

http://us.focusrite.com/answerbase/s...rol-tutorial-0
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2016, 06:10 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Focusrite scarlett 18i20

The Mix Control software can be a bit overwhelming, but it is quite useful once you get comfortable with it. Try watching this video (it is for the Saffire line, but essentially the same for the Scarlett) a couple of times, have your software open and follow along.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2016, 07:05 AM
madselhoff madselhoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 73
Default Re: Focusrite scarlett 18i20

Thanks guys!
I looked through all the stuff you linked...a couple of times actually.. and it not only helped, but made my whole day a lot better `cause I got everything to work thanks to you guys

I came from a setup (digi 002r - plug`n play) and at first I thought "what the hell should I use some mix control software for?" ... but this stuff is really great, and I love the thought that I bought something that isn´t just "what you see is what you get" but actually there is a learning curve, and every time I learn/discover some new features I really feel like I got some value for my money Love it so far.. smooth running at sample rate 32
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2016, 04:45 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Focusrite scarlett 18i20

Glad you're getting it going! My Focusrite isn't my main interface, but I am quite happy with it when I need it. Now that it is getting harder to find laptops with Firewire or ExpressCard slots, I had to get a USB interface, and I'm happy with my choice.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20? hermonmusic Third Party Interfaces 24 06-27-2015 08:53 AM
pro tools 11 stops recording during 96khz sessions with focusrite scarlett 18i20 ilmetallo Third Party Interfaces 11 05-28-2015 09:23 AM
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 ProTools crash. BurtonTrucking Third Party Interfaces 7 04-17-2014 11:30 AM
Eleven Rack + Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 eboyer Eleven Rack 2 03-16-2014 09:51 AM
Scarlett 18i20 and USB 3 on Mac JCBigler Third Party Interfaces 1 11-09-2013 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com