Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2016, 07:51 PM
WhyAvid WhyAvid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Hiya PT Community,

Long time PT user. Using mostly for post.

I've been having a problem close to a year now (started when I was on PT 10 LE) where my audio becomes crackly, like it's losing bit rate, and then eventually goes totally out. If I bounce something while my system is crackling, the file is uncorrupted and is crackle free.

This problem happens system wide. Pro Tools, Adobe, Chrome, Spotify, iTunes, Finder, you name it. To change audio output on my machine (say from Apollo to Internal Speakers) I have to manually change the driver in the system prefs, relaunch Finder, and then quit and reopen the program I'm using.

To be clear, this happens whether my interface is connected or not.

The problem has worsened over the past few months. I'm now forced to reboot my machine at least twice an hour to monitor my audio properly. It's a real mess and I can no longer work around it.

At first, I thought this issue was my hardware. I replaced my MacBook Pro with a new one. Then, I assumed my interface was the issue. I replaced my Apollo. No luck. My next action is on software. Mac software, maybe? Time to upgrade. Went from Mavericks to Yosemite. Nothing changes. I upgraded to 10 HD and then to 12 HD. Complete uninstall and reinstall. Wow, PT is more stable but still crackling and cutting out.

I've trashed my prefs a few times and the problem persists. 'Ignore Errors During Playback/Record' is unticked. I've adjusted my buffer size with no improvement.

I'm stuck and I have no idea what to try next. I've read of others having troubles with Pro Tools Aggregate I/O but their symptoms seem less progressed and are usually solved by switching their output to their interface.

ALSO, I have 12 HD (downloaded from avid) but it doesn't show up in my Avid account and I have been unable to locate a System ID for my software anywhere.

Please oh please, someone have an answer for what woes me.

<3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2016, 07:51 PM
WhyAvid WhyAvid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Mid 2014 MacBook Pro Retina
2.8 GHz Intel i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Yosemite 10.10.5

Apollo Twin Solo

Pro Tools 12 HD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2016, 07:56 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Silly questions maybe...but Are you daisy chaining through FW? have you tried a new cable? Have you considered something outside your rig? SUch as speaker cables, interface connections? ect?
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:02 PM
WhyAvid WhyAvid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Fair question.

This problem happens whether or not I'm connected to any accessories (interface, hard drives, display, etc).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:05 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Hold on...when you say 'Hard drives'. Are you implying that you're trying to play back from your system drive?
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:15 PM
WhyAvid WhyAvid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Occasionally, yes. I'm not too worried about performance while editing VO off of my system drive.

I work in both scenarios often.

Does the problem occur whether I'm working off an external or my system drive? Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:18 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Maybe a corrupt session, or does it happen on all sessions ? You didn't happen to start off on your new machine off a clone did you? Or did you your Migration assistant?
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:22 PM
WhyAvid WhyAvid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

Any session.

I used Migration Assistant from my Time Capsule.

The problem was identical on my old machine, except for the audio output not switching over automatically when I disconnect from the rest of my hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:29 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

BINGO! That's your problem...under NO circumstance use Migration Assistant. You need to do a clean install of your OS, PT's and Plugs. I assure you that will solve your problem.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:34 PM
WhyAvid WhyAvid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT Crackling/Quality Loss/Eventual loss of sound

I've definitely been preparing myself for this. Was hoping there was a way around it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay and loss of sound quality? Any help? ablair3311 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-16-2010 03:15 PM
audio loss - crackling -mbox powerbook help! chavezjo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-15-2005 02:06 PM
Why does consolidation &or bouncing tracks=loss of sound quality John Kurzweg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 38 07-24-2003 07:22 AM
Submixing with Aux's ....quality loss? mesh Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-23-2002 07:21 AM
LOSS OF QUALITY 24-16BIT Tell Tips & Tricks 2 10-10-2001 08:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com