Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2013, 12:39 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Well, the rip-off continues, especially if you live in the UK.

In the US, this upgrade costs $599.

In the UK, it is £478.

Spot the problem? At current exchange rates, $599 = £388. That's 23% more than in the US.

Does it really cost £90 more for a download version to go to the UK? If so Avid really need to speak to their ISP.

Just because the UK has the nickname "Rip Off Britain", there's no reason why you should exploit it.

AVID - PLEASE SORT THIS OUT NOW - YOU ARE NOT WINNING ANY FRIENDS
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2013, 12:44 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Look up
VAT
in wikipedia.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2013, 12:51 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 184
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Only last year we had to pay not far off £1000 for an update, now just a year later they want another £500. I can understand full versions costing a lot, but UPGRADES not not cost nearly as much. It's a complete rip off
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2013, 12:54 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Look up
VAT
in wikipedia.
Value Added Tax is not 23%.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2013, 12:57 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Value Added Tax is not 23%.
so 3% being "ripped off"?

and you even get the VAT back. So why the outcry?

In Germany the upgrade to 11HD from 10HD is around 570€ including 19% VAT which I get back anyway. So where's the scandal?

if you take off the VAT the price is almost exactly identical to the US price (699$ not including US sales tax)
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 06-23-2013 at 01:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:03 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
so 3% being "ripped off"?

and you even get the VAT back. So why the outcry?
Doesn't the US price include local tax?

Plus not everyone is VAT registered.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:04 AM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 292
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

I has always been that way. Here in Germany the HD Upgrade is 570 € which is something like 750 $. So it has nothing to do with Britain. It is for all overseas prices and has always been.

For VAT reason. No idea. But it is weather surprising nor new.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:09 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstian View Post
I has always been that way. Here in Germany the HD Upgrade is 570 € which is something like 750 $. So it has nothing to do with Britain. It is for all overseas prices and has always been.

For VAT reason. No idea. But it is weather surprising nor new.
UK resellers gave indications that it would be closer to a straight conversion.

It's a real shame things like this happen, especially as in the EU their products "come from" Amsterdam, presumably for tax reasons, a bit like Apple and Ireland.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:12 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstian View Post
I has always been that way. Here in Germany the HD Upgrade is 570 € which is something like 750 $. So it has nothing to do with Britain. It is for all overseas prices and has always been.

For VAT reason. No idea. But it is weather surprising nor new.
again. the german price includes 19% tax!!!
take that off and you have the US price in euros.
which you get back if you are a professional. (the tax I mean)
if you purchase with you VAT ID the 19% aren't even charged in the first place.

same mistake if ofte. made when comparing german apple prices with the US prices. VAT and duty apply there.

you can't expect the MFG to compensate for local VAT. if you don't like it you should ask your represantative in parlament to change the law ;-)
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:31 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pricing Rip-Off in the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
again. the german price includes 19% tax!!!
take that off and you have the US price in euros.
which you get back if you are a professional. (the tax I mean)
if you purchase with you VAT ID the 19% aren't even charged in the first place.

same mistake if ofte. made when comparing german apple prices with the US prices. VAT and duty apply there.

you can't expect the MFG to compensate for local VAT. if you don't like it you should ask your represantative in parlament to change the law ;-)
The VAT threshold here in the UK is quite high, for someone who is a single person company. You can voluntarily register but it does then also cost in paperwork.

Would anyone be able to illuminate me as to the effective NET cost in dollars that a US resident with a US $ account would pay?
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 HD Pricing EdFaris Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 04-21-2013 12:37 AM
MC Pro Pricing myke2242 System 5 7 09-11-2012 09:21 PM
Pricing... jborrmann VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 04-04-2005 10:03 AM
PT6 pricing per EM Kling3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-06-2003 04:58 PM
Ram pricing. hornedrum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-17-2001 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com