Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:11 AM
moldenke moldenke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops

Hi,

I'm looking to buy a laptop with win 7 and install Pro Tools 9. I notice on the AVID website:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=380551

that they list a number of supported laptops but most say (no USB 2.0 support). Does this mean I can't hook up an external USB drive? It also says firewire is not supported. How then am I supposed to connect an external drive? Almost all forum messages suggest that a separate drive for OS and samples is a must have to achieve necessary performance.

Also any successes running PT 9 on a win 7 laptop? If so what model?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2010, 08:14 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops

Quote:
Originally Posted by moldenke View Post
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a laptop with win 7 and install Pro Tools 9. I notice on the AVID website:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=380551

that they list a number of supported laptops but most say (no USB 2.0 support). Does this mean I can't hook up an external USB drive? It also says firewire is not supported. How then am I supposed to connect an external drive? Almost all forum messages suggest that a separate drive for OS and samples is a must have to achieve necessary performance.

Also any successes running PT 9 on a win 7 laptop? If so what model?

Thanks in advance for your help.


Hi,

You can use any USB or Firewire drive! within reason! the really cheap boxes might not work as well as the more established one's. USB is quite slow and not recommended for large track counts. firewire is much better. or SATA with a laptop card to sata. the internal drive works quite well, but you'll soon use up disk space and need an external drive for backup.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2010, 08:37 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,813
Default Re: USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops

Your link doesn't work. In any case, the winds they are a changin'. I took a look thru the compatibility grids(top of the page0 and was surprised about 2 things that are new; USB 2 drives okay for Windows only, and firewire drives NOT okay for Windows!?!?!? This is news. In any case, I would check with laptop manufacturer's own websites as I would expect EVERY laptop made in the last 5 years to have USB2 ports.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2010, 03:11 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,799
Default Re: USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops

Is there any issue with Windows 7 and Firewire? I switched to a Mac a couple year ago so I have not kept up on the Windows side. Back in the Windows XP days, Firewire was the preferred way to go with the Oxford chipset and 7200 RPM drives. I also was surprised that for Windows, USB2 was supported and Firewire was not. Anyone have the facts?
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2010, 04:46 PM
moldenke moldenke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops

Sorry about the link in the original post. Here's the Avid web page detailing supported laptops:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=380551

It looks like the webpage may have been updated to clarify: The laptops that don't support USB 2.0 can use eSATA connections for external drives.

Still looking for any success stories with win 7 laptops and PT 9.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Laptops and Pro Tools sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-03-2006 10:32 AM
Best laptops for Pro tools felixflank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2006 06:41 AM
Pro Tools and Apple laptops Jsalam112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 09:28 AM
Support for pc laptops? electrobank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-26-2001 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com