Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #271  
Old 10-26-2016, 03:59 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tundra View Post
Cool. In all our tests with 10.10 and up PT is the only app that works for us.

You lucked out.
I wonder why? I was using Reason in stand alone just yesterday ?? And only sort of lucked out, because I cannot get Final Cut to work at all For that I have to re boot from my drive that has Mav's on it .
Bottom line is, it should be fixed period..Lets hope Drew M is right.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 10-26-2016, 07:27 PM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 788
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Wait ! What ? I thought this was only an Avid HD hardware Core Audio driver problem ? Are you saying you can't close PT and run ITunes or Sound Cloud thru your system either ?
Hi K-Roche ,
It's not just HD users , I am on Pro Tools Native Version and the broken AVIDCore Audio problem has royally screwed with all my other applications and hardware (that I liked to use to using everyday), but now cannot use them at all with my MBox3pro (that use also Avid Core Audio)

.., things like ...,
- all my Native instruments Hardware,
- apps like Guitar Rig ,
- Other Native Instruments Software like their Convolution Reverb (that uses the guitar rig engine) ,
- and also other companies like Audiofile Triumph CD mastering software.

Avid offered a crappy workaround .., which recommended removing AvidCore Audio from the Hal Folder ..., if I wanted anything like the above to work

.., but if that suggested workaround was actually used :

- Then that suggested workaround made EVERYTHING ELSE (ie; out side of using a pro tools session only) >>> to NOT work with my MBox3 pro interface (eg; iTunes , You-tube etc )


As a realistic workaround ..,
I have since had to purchase other expensive items to replace (and re-learn) those thing I relied on day to day ,
.., money and time unnecessarily spent if AVID had of bothered fixing what they broke, plus add to that the endless bugs we all suffered past year , and to realize we are now paying extra for all this non-functionality ahhhhh

Yosemite's release was on 16th October 2014 - we are still waiting on AVID to fix this.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.1 Native * Slate Raven MTi-1 Version 3.3.0 * AVID MBox3 Pro * OSX Sierra 10.12.6 * MAC PRO (late 2013) * 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 * 64 GB Ram 1866 MHz DDR * AMD FirePro D300 2048Mb * Lacie LBD 1TB Thunderbolt 2 PCiE * Blackmagic Multidock Thunderbolt2 (Broken !!! - shyte support from Blackmagic Singapore > A-Holes) * Samsung SSD's 850 Pro * WD Black HDD's
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 10-27-2016, 02:25 PM
Ken Skoglund Ken Skoglund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sweden
Posts: 64
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Yep, got the answer from Avid now. Back to a cable...

Quote:
Hello Kenneth,

Mac OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) included significant changes in Apple's Core Audio architecture which rendered Avid's existing HD Core Audio Driver non-functional. Bringing our HD hardware in line with Apple’s architectural changes has required more than simply modifying our existing driver - an entirely different driver was needed, which required all new code. Work on this new driver has been underway for quite some time now, and we are making progress. We can not project a release date at this time, but rest assured this is a priority, and we are working on it.


As a workaround, you can use your built in sound device or other audio interface for your other DAW and connect its audio output to your HDX's audio input so that you can hear it on your studio speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 10-28-2016, 03:51 PM
A1's Avatar
A1 A1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 431
Default Re: When can we expect HD Core Audio to be fixed for Mac OS X El Capitan?

Although all the work is finalized in PT HDX we are using Live, Reason, Studio One and DP (each has its own strengths depending on a given project)... Core Audio was working just fine (well except for Apple audio) until we updated to 12.6 ...now its totally broken
We are fed up and just ordered the Thunderbolt Resident Audio T2 unit just so we can work on those other DAWs...
It is redundant and sad that we have to add more third party hardware, after having had invested thousands of dollars in PT HDX and Avid IOs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
What version PT did you upgrade from and are you on El Cap ? Currently I am on 12.4 and Yosemite and Reason still works , although Final Cut Pro X does not . I was thinking of going to 12.6 and possibly Sierra but this is just more bad news.
Yosemite 10.10.5 / PT 12.6
__________________
:+:
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 10-29-2016, 11:24 AM
AMIEL AMIEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 144
Default Re: Avid CoreAudio Manager not working with HDX/HD Native on Yosemite

Is not the same with Mavericks?
__________________
Thanks!

Reuven Amiel
Mixer/Producer.
Reply With Quote
  #276  
Old 11-11-2016, 07:58 AM
wafare wafare is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 44
Default I'm REALLY SCREWED......

Ok....I'm apparently one of the few that had Core Audio working fine on my YOSEMITE based Mac Pro. I upgraded Pro Tools to 12.6 last night and of course the 12.6 HD driver like a bone head and now I have NO Core Audio!!!! I Master in addition to recording and mixing and my Wavelab 9 Pro system is now DEAD!!! Yes, I know it's my fault but is it unreasonable to expect what's arguably one of the most expensive audio products on the market to simply work?? I'm not asking for anything free, I just want to use what I paid for!!!!
__________________
2013 2.7 Ghz 12-Core Mac Pro
64 GB Ram
1 TB SSD
OS X 10.12.6
Lynx Hilo TB D/A
Prism Lyra A/D
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018
MASELEC MTC-1x
MASELEC MLA-2
MASELEC MEA-2
MASELEC MPL-2
MASELEC MLA-4
MANLEY (Mastering) SLAM!
MANLEY MASSIVE PASSIVE (Mastering)
X2 Rupert Neve 5059
WAVES L2 Ultra Maximizer
Artist Control
X2 Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #277  
Old 11-11-2016, 09:59 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,810
Default Re: I'm REALLY SCREWED......

There is a new Core Audio driver on the way, but in the meantime, I would downgrade to the last version that worked
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #278  
Old 11-20-2016, 05:19 AM
yanos yanos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: France
Posts: 72
Default Avid Core Audio Manager 12.6, 3rd-party DAWs, Yosemite

Hello,
I run Pro Tools HD 12.6 on a Mac Pro 5.1 with HD Native (pcie), under Mac OSX 10.10.5 and the HD Native doen't work with 3rd-party DAWs (Avid Core Audio Manager 12.6).
What can I do to have it works while I want to stay with PT 12.6?
Is it possible to downgrade Avid Core Audio Manager and keep PT 12.6 working?
__________________
MacPro 5.1 (2 x 3.46 GHz, Twelve Core Intel Xeon) - OS X 10.12.6 - Ram 64G - PTHD 2018.7 - HD Native Card - Avid HD Omni - BM Intensity Pro - Monitoring PSI Audio (surround)
Reply With Quote
  #279  
Old 11-20-2016, 05:52 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Avid Core Audio Manager 12.6, 3rd-party DAWs, Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by yanos View Post
What can I do to have it works while I want to stay with PT 12.6?
Wait a week and a half.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #280  
Old 11-20-2016, 06:36 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Avid Core Audio Manager 12.6, 3rd-party DAWs, Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Wait a week and a half.


YOU ARE THE MAN !!!! My DSP Quattro will finally work again !!!! Yay :)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Core Audio HD Driver Breaks Maschine in Yosemite ronwasserman macOS 41 12-10-2015 04:05 PM
Native instruments Maschine not opening in Yosemite OS bc of Avid Core audio Driver? amos922 Pro Tools 12 4 06-18-2015 12:27 PM
Avid hd native core card used $1200 Killbert Buy & Sell 3 01-14-2014 06:16 PM
AVID HD NATIVE PCIe CORE CARD CHEAP!!! Killbert Buy & Sell 0 01-09-2014 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com