Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2016, 03:37 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,073
Default Export clips as files and dither

If you use "export Clips as files" to export a 24 bit 96k file and set it to export it as a 24 bit 96k file, is any dither applied automatically?

I want to export the file in the same SR and bit depth but make it an interleaved file, not .l and .r

Thanks.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2019.5
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2016, 03:48 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,401
Default Re: Export clips as files and dither

This keeps coming up. And lots of us here keep pointing people to the Pro Tools Reference Guide which maybe not surprisingly has as section titled "Dither". Which explains many things, and maybe leaves a few confusing questions.

But if you are exporting at 24 bits, why do you really care? Do you have a playback system that could reproduce anything close to LSB dither in 24 bit digital signal once it's back in the analog domain? 16bit this stuff can be really important, 24 bit... dithering at 24 bits won't hurt but it's so far buried in the analog noise floor...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2016, 03:50 PM
wafare wafare is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 44
Default Re: Export clips as files and dither

I'm fairly certain that exporting clips at the same bit depth as recorded won't trigger the dithering that automatically happens when you export at a lower bit depth. I actually wish that there could be a preference to not "automatically" dither when exporting clips at a different bit depth. I have customers that want me to truncate.
__________________
2013 2.7 Ghz 12-Core Mac Pro
64 GB Ram
1 TB SSD
OS X 10.12.6
Lynx Hilo TB D/A
Prism Lyra A/D
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018
MASELEC MTC-1x
MASELEC MLA-2
MASELEC MEA-2
MASELEC MPL-2
MASELEC MLA-4
MANLEY (Mastering) SLAM!
MANLEY MASSIVE PASSIVE (Mastering)
X2 Rupert Neve 5059
WAVES L2 Ultra Maximizer
Artist Control
X2 Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2016, 06:59 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,073
Default Re: Export clips as files and dither

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
This keeps coming up. And lots of us here keep pointing people to the Pro Tools Reference Guide which maybe not surprisingly has as section titled "Dither". Which explains many things, and maybe leaves a few confusing questions.

But if you are exporting at 24 bits, why do you really care? Do you have a playback system that could reproduce anything close to LSB dither in 24 bit digital signal once it's back in the analog domain? 16bit this stuff can be really important, 24 bit... dithering at 24 bits won't hurt but it's so far buried in the analog noise floor...
I want to make sure that ProTools DOESN"T dither the clip when I just export it at the same SR and bit depth. It doesn't say that in the manual...

I wish this was a preference either way as well.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2019.5
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2016, 09:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,401
Default Re: Export clips as files and dither

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
I want to make sure that ProTools DOESN"T dither the clip when I just export it at the same SR and bit depth. It doesn't say that in the manual...

I wish this was a preference either way as well.
You either have 24-bit fixed session file format in which case the manual says it's not dithering on export to 24-bit, or you have 32-bit float and so it dithers that at 24-bit fixed. Which *nobody* can tell. If you are going from 32-bit float to 24-bit fixed the only concern you really should have is the "digital gain staging" to get that 24-bit signal optimally scaled, not to clip or underflow.

So why do you care? It's either not dithering or dithering at 24 bits and nobody can hear that/tell the difference? That lovely analog output stage is adding some lovely Gaussian and 1/f "dither" for you... at levels well above digitally dithering the LSB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2016, 01:40 AM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Export clips as files and dither

When exporting from the clip bin, just follow the export prompts, select from the options and you'll be fine.
Just remember that the files are exported as unprocessed files from the clip bin.
Meaning nothing on the insert will be applied.
I like this feature for batching all the best riff clips from an extended jam into one folder.

It's also a good idea to note the tempo in the file name(s).
Then they can be dropped into any session, arranged and processed according to the song.
Basically like your own loop library.

Last edited by take77; 06-29-2016 at 02:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2016, 07:22 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,636
Default Re: Export clips as files and dither

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
I want to make sure that ProTools DOESN"T dither the clip when I just export it at the same SR and bit depth. It doesn't say that in the manual...
No, it will not dither on export in that scenario, and yes, it does explicitly spell it out in the manual.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2016, 09:36 AM
mu-tron-kid mu-tron-kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ithaca College School Of Music, NY
Posts: 156
Default Export clips as files and dither

B
__________________
Brian Dozoretz
Mac Pro, osX.10.12.6, PT 2018.3 HDX, 2 x Alpha/Deltalink
2 x iMac, osX.10.12.6, PT 2018.3 HD Native PCIe + HD Omni
iMac, osX.10.12.6, PT 2018.3 HD Native PCIe T-Bolt expansion chassis + HD io, Artist Series Mix x 2, Artist Series MC Transport
VENUE SC48 3.1
SSL Duality via ipMIDI / ∂elta Automation Plug-In

Last edited by mu-tron-kid; 06-29-2016 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12.4 won't export Clips as Files Spyderrp7 Pro Tools 12 3 04-02-2016 01:18 AM
Can't export clips as individual files lucidlife Pro Tools 12 3 02-17-2016 01:54 PM
Assertion Error trying to export clips as files digidbizi Pro Tools 11 0 07-12-2014 09:39 AM
Export Clips as Files... (to mono) Ryan Young macOS 4 06-06-2012 12:41 AM
Clip Gain and Export Clips as files Farmer Dave macOS 2 03-18-2012 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com