Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2013, 02:32 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 178
Default Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Hello there,

I was wondering if a courageous soul had tried to run PT11 under Lion?
AVID says it won't work, but is it for sure??
Thanks for any infos.
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2013, 02:34 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD2 View Post
Hello there,

I was wondering if a courageous soul had tried to run PT11 under Lion?
AVID says it won't work, but is it for sure??
Thanks for any infos.
Yes it is sure ! not supported and afaik will not work.

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2013, 02:40 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 178
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Well, bad news but thanks anyway.
I was supposed to post videos in the next day on my website (Brotools.fr) to describe the product (in partnership with AVID France) but that won't be possible.
Too bad.
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2013, 03:05 AM
Vovique Vovique is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 145
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Some run it on Lion happily
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=340261
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2013, 03:29 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 178
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Thanks, that's what I thought.
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2013, 03:33 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD2 View Post
Thanks, that's what I thought.
As long as you realise that you are on your own and if you run into any unexpected crashes you cannot complain about it then you can try running it on a commodore 64 if you like

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:21 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,533
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

IMO, with Mavericks around the corner, you might as well be on ML now.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:31 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
As long as you realise that you are on your own and if you run into any unexpected crashes you cannot complain about it then you can try running it on a commodore 64 if you like

Chris
LOAD "PRO TOOLS 11"

ENTER

beeeeep

loading...

LOAD ERROR

Adjust cassette playhead with screwdriver before calling AViD support!

__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2013, 07:22 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 178
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
As long as you realise that you are on your own and if you run into any unexpected crashes you cannot complain about it
As always I would say....
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2013, 02:41 AM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: Pro Tools 11, no Lion, really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
Yes it is sure ! not supported and afaik will not work.

Chris
Chris, not the case. It will work on Lion. But it will work better on Mountain Lion if you are running 10.8.4.

If you must run it on Lion I would recommend 10.7.4 and not 10.7.5.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion tequilasy Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 25 05-09-2012 06:05 AM
Pro Tools 8/9/10 w/ Lion DMpro macOS 5 02-20-2012 09:25 AM
pro tools 10 lion chumphries1290 macOS 6 12-13-2011 12:32 AM
Pro Tools 9.0.5 and Lion Set-Up tekis macOS 2 11-26-2011 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com