Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-09-2011, 03:46 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
not the best deal but it beats full price
if we all hold out maybe they will rethink the pricing structure

Weren't we all discussing that a few weeks ago?
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-09-2011, 05:11 PM
Willard Willard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rawlinson End
Posts: 139
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

What a mess! Not specifically Sonnox (who I've found to be both fair and generous on past upgrades), but the whole thing. With two HD3 rigs, we already have to keep an old g5 just so we can recall PT7 sessions. Now if we want to upgrade our TDM we have to relinquish them? I suppose the price of TDMs on Ebay will tank, so trade ours in to Sonnox for the upgrade, and buy new TDMs for the recall for pennies on the dollar? That's if we go to 10, which sounds familiarly like the bait and switch they did with 9. Ugh!

Hold on, someone pass me an SSL, an 8" floppy and a pencil, I need to do a recall!! Oh right, that's what we have computers for....

Kevin
__________________

Pro Tools 9.0.5 | HD3 PCIe | 192 i/o | C|24
Mac Pro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore | 16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141

Pro Tools 9.0.6 | HD3 PCIx | Apogee Rosetta 200 | Magma PE6R4-I
MacPro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore |16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-09-2011, 05:53 PM
uQbar uQbar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 91
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

I've just gotten on the ProTools bandwagon. Even before I have it all working, there was a PT10 upgrade for $300 (more that half of what I paid). Now I'm looking to get plug ins, and it's looking like I'll get burned there too. Or maybe it's really the plug in vendors that will. I was all set to invest in a bunch, but for now I'm thinking I'm better off just getting the bare minimum and waiting until this all shakes out.

Are there any ways to future proof this stuff as a consumer? PT is unstable enough that I don't want to assume the "don't upgrade ever path" will work - but don't relish buying all the same stuff all over again in a year.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-09-2011, 06:53 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

I think that for the most part, most vendors will allow a 'free' move to AAX... though you can rest assured that there will be price increases across the board before long.. it may not be much, but they will have to recoup the cost somewhere.. further, any new plugs coming along will be priced accordingly.

fwiw, Cytomic has also announced an upgrade fee.. http://www.cytomic.com/cytomic-annou...t-protools-hdx

No doubt there will be others.

There are going to be a lot of ancillary costs associated with moving to HDX for folks.. But everyone has asked for change. It's here and coming but it aint free.. (TANSTAAFL) (RIP RAH)
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-09-2011, 09:54 PM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

I think danander11 is right. No matter how appealing any free upgrade can be, let's face the fact that this transition cost money. Cost money on every side. But this is really a very necessary move. It's turmoil now, but will be clear soon. Every huge change is hard.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-09-2011, 10:22 PM
syMPh syMPh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Perth, WA Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

well, i'm sorry but sonnox can kiss my aax..

they're policies are antisocial and overpriced imho... I'm not particularly enamored with the big deal they've made of how much extra it costs to develop the dsp versions either, which from my understanding is nowhere near as developmental as rtas -> tdm...

They are last on my list, I have other tools to do the job, so will be handing my money for upgrades to companies who don't BS me and offer fair, well considered upgrade pricing.. i don't expect it for free but i hope their pricing structure and little spiel brings them little reward.

peace and fair upgrading to all my fellow hdx aspirers !!!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-09-2011, 11:06 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

Once I sold my soul to Devil and bought Waves Diamond TDM.
After several years I sold it and released my soul from the WUP.
But then I sold my soul to Satan and bought Sonnox Elite TDM.
Now I know two things:
1. I am not smart
2. Satan is worse than a devil.
3. Sonnox lied to me when I purchased their Elite TDM using a "Don't Crack" mass buy. I asked back then whether my bundle is resalable and accounts just like a regular purchase. And the answer was - yes.
I recently wanted to sell my Oxford Reverb individually.
Sonnox didn't approve this transfer. This is their reply:

You may recall that your Oxford Limiter was supplied as part of a Sonnox Elite bundle, which contains plug-ins discounted by 40% over the individual prices. As such, individual plug-ins are not eligible for separate resale or transfer, as we do not allow discounted bundles to be split. Regrettably I cannot confirm our permission for the transfer to proceed as requested on this occasion.

Now they discount their TDM bundle by 30%.
And I am still stuck with none transferable TDM bundle?

But this is not enough.
They want me to pay another 25% to get AAX support.
And what if I don't need AAX DSP?

How stupid and blind I am/was!!!
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-10-2011, 01:32 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surrey
Posts: 651
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

This is a real shame because the last round of updates to OSX were a reasonable £10 per plugin from Sonnox. Punishing loyal customers with excessive upgrade costs is not the way to go in these times.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad-Core Intel Xeon
6 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
HD3 Accel PT 9.0.6, OS 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-10-2011, 01:37 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

Don't take a look at Ozone5 then.. upgrades are 149 and 399, outright is 199 and 599... with no mention of AAX.... LOL

The whole world thinks everyone can print money all of a sudden..
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-10-2011, 01:43 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,707
Default Re: Sonnox posts FAQ about AAX plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamasdragon View Post
It's a very strange move from their part. Considering that many competitors offered free aax updates...
Indeed. It's not like they don't have competition. Their plug-ins are good but not THAT good.

Chris wrote:
Quote:
So to upgrade to AAX DSP from TDM and surrender your TDM plugin £86 ($135)
That is close to buying Waves H-EQ TDM outright!!!! What are they thinking?

They are now right at the bottom of my "upgrade to AAX list".
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonnox plugins out for S3L! Kristo Kotkas VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 02-17-2014 03:33 PM
WTB: Sonnox Plugins Needed EuroMix Buy & Sell 0 09-17-2013 02:44 PM
Sonnox plugins in windows 7 / PT8? Georgerob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-18-2011 03:47 PM
Anybody Using Sonnox Plugins in LE The Dougfather 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-11-2009 01:03 AM
Sonnox Plugins Compatable with 7.4? jimmyz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-12-2007 05:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com