Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2013, 10:00 PM
xStix99x xStix99x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1
Default Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I'm a sound assistant for a studio, and they put me in charge of finding a control console that will be put in the new dub stage. They want to have the new Pro Tools 11 system integrated on the stage, but they were unsure of how the avid D-command and D-control boards work with the new pro tools. Here is what I need to know if anyone has any idea:

1.Will an AVID C24 work with PT 11? What PT would I need (HD, HD Native, HDX)?

2.Will a Digidesign Control 24 (The older models) work with PT 11? What PT would I need (HD, HD Native, HDX)?

3.What setup would you recommend for a dub stage that is looking to buy whatever they can secondhand?

Please be as detailed as you want, and I thank anyone in advance who can give me some answers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2013, 09:30 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Control 24/C24 and Pro Tools 11

C24 will work with 11 and all versions you mentioned. Control24 will not be supported(which doesn't mean it WON'T work, but nobody knows yet). You might be better off with a couple of Artist Mix fader packs and an Artist Control(which is cheaper than a used C24). D-Command and D-control should both be fine with 11.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2013, 08:28 AM
blackc7's Avatar
blackc7 blackc7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 41
Default Re: Control 24/C24 and Pro Tools 11

I don't understand why the Control/24 wouldn't work? It's just a controller! Avid wants users to spend more money. Why isn't Pro Control supported; look at how much it costed! I always wanted the Control/24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:26 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control 24/C24 and Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackc7 View Post
I don't understand why the Control/24 wouldn't work? It's just a controller! Avid wants users to spend more money. Why isn't Pro Control supported; look at how much it costed! I always wanted the Control/24
After all these actions, you still don't understand that Avid genuinely does not give poop about your investment? Fan Boys feel free to chime in and tell users how lucky they are to throw away there perfectly working hardware! And that they do not have time to make it supported because it is so old! Time for a new controller purchase from (you guessed it) Avid!! Where is your checkbook!?
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:40 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,622
Post Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by louieshowers View Post
...Avid genuinely does not give poop about your investment... they do not have time to make it supported because it is so old...
Please see the previous posts in this thread...

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=2040785

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=2042152
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2013, 11:57 AM
AREED AREED is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 143
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

I hope somebody comes out with a way to make the control 24 work.
Avid is to stupid to realize they could sell an upgrade driver or something and all of us control 24/pro control owners would buy it. But once again they have given professionals the shaft. They have not even given us a real answer to why it will not work. Whats the real truth?
__________________
10.8.5
PT 10.3.10, HD2, 2x192 i/o
Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:07 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 851
Default Control|24 with Pro Tools HD 11?

I have an original Control 24 and I know its not officially supported but fingers crossed it will still work. $600 is a lot to spend to find out afterwards...

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 05-17-2013 at 09:49 AM. Reason: Moved from CPTK thread for visibility.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:23 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

The Control|24 is listed under the category "Not Officially Supported Audio Interfaces and Peripherals (Untested)". So we don't know that it will or will not work for certain, but it is not listed as "Definitely will not work". Wish I could be more exact, but as it says, untested.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 05-22-2013 at 01:08 PM. Reason: Compatibility docs have been updated to reflect that Control|24 will not work with Pro Tools 11.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:42 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 851
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

So the key questions are:
1) Why wouldn't Avid at least TRY to see if the Control 24 works so you can at least let us know?
2) Which Driver for the Control 24 will I want to use? The latest one from my PT 10 Native+CPTK 2 upgrade?

Thanks for the help Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:54 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus44uk View Post
So the key questions are:
1) Why wouldn't Avid at least TRY to see if the Control 24 works so you can at least let us know?
2) Which Driver for the Control 24 will I want to use? The latest one from my PT 10 Native+CPTK 2 upgrade?

Thanks for the help Bruce
Hi,

As the Control 24 is EOL Avid won't make any official statement as to whether it works or not or whether its been working during beta. were on our own now and until someone boots PT11 with a control 24 and posts on the forum we won't know!! If the driver is not bundles with PT11 then i guess we try the latest with that will come with PT 10.3.5 Stay tuned

Lets hope it works unless you want to see a grown man cry


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 05:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 04:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 10:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com