Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-15-2010, 10:25 PM

Default I'm thinking of purchasing this system

Hey Gurus- any light you can shed on this?

First- I'm PC literate (Mac too, but I want to get as much bang for the buck), hold 30 certifications in multimedia and web development... I've even been involved with a session or two with Pro Tools (HD). I've been reocrding for 20 years and have over 1000 recordings under my belt. I would be considered an expert in MIDI.

I love production... I have have a wonderfully talented group of musicians that I'm blessed to perform with on the weekends. I'm a multi-instrumentalist- guitarist (session player) and lead vocalist.

I want a system able to record at least a 3-5 musicians. MIDI connections are important.

I am talking to Sweetwater- who I love.. they have always steered me right in price and advice.

But I want to do a bit of investigation before I spend $7K.

Here's the system:
(I'm leaving out tech supprt, installation charges, instructional DVDs, etc)

Windows 3.2GHz Tower Work
ProTools Le (most recent version)
003 Rack with Plug-Ins
OctoPre2 8-Ch Mic Preamp w/Dig i/o
Classic Pack Native Bundl
Native Power Pack
AutoTune Native Tuning Plug-in
Music Tools for Pro Tools

Does this sound decent?

Thanks for taking the time to respond folks... I know other people on here have more pressing issues.

Thanks,
Chad
Old 06-15-2010, 11:05 PM

Default Re: I'm thinking of purchasing this system

Hi Chad,

I can’t comment on your computer without a list of exact components.

What operating system are you installing? Consider that Pro Tools is not yet fully qualified with Windows7.