Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:16 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

i need to edit and bounce 2 hours of music...
is there any other way to bounce 2 hours of music without waiting for 2 hours for the bounce ....??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:58 AM
tonyjworld tonyjworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 11
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

Not in PT. It's real-time, so there is no getting around that during a bounce.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2010, 10:15 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

You could bus to a new stereo track and record as you work. Once you have it finished, consolidate the new track and export it.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2010, 07:51 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
You could bus to a new stereo track and record as you work. Once you have it finished, consolidate the new track and export it.
not sure i understand you... how do you record ? what do you mean ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2010, 09:24 AM
Kobra Kobra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 92
Cool Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

When you are done editing, open up the Regions bin, select the wanted regions and >Export Regions As Files [shift+command+K]. This will not include any plug-ins (unless you have printed them with AS of course).
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.66 i7, 8GB RAM / 10.11.5 / Pro Tools 12 / Komplete Ultimate / EWQLSO Gold Play Edition / Steven Slate Drums / Logic Pro / Apogee Duet
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2010, 01:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

Quote:
Originally Posted by montreal View Post
not sure i understand you... how do you record ? what do you mean ?
Send all your tracks to a stereo bus. Create a new stereo track, set its input to the same stereo bus, put it in record-ready and go. If you are always recording as you mix, when you reach the end, you will have a recorded track with a bunch of regions(because of each time you stopped the transport). Review all the splices between regions and fix any clicks with some short cross-fades. The Select AlL the regions on your stereo "mix" track and consolidate them(now you have a single audio file for the 2 hour project). Export it as a stereo file.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2010, 05:48 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Send all your tracks to a stereo bus. Create a new stereo track, set its input to the same stereo bus, put it in record-ready and go. If you are always recording as you mix, when you reach the end, you will have a recorded track with a bunch of regions(because of each time you stopped the transport). Review all the splices between regions and fix any clicks with some short cross-fades. The Select AlL the regions on your stereo "mix" track and consolidate them(now you have a single audio file for the 2 hour project). Export it as a stereo file.
yeah thats a solution.. but i never did that and still not sure i understand how i can record something only by editing... but i will try thanx anyway my friend !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:03 PM
lemonkid lemonkid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 122
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

no you cannot record by only editing. That advice given was not an aswer to your question. You want to bounce something faster than the time your session takes.

This is not possible. It used to be an option on PT 4 or 3 or 5 or so but not anymore. With the modern times coming our way they took that option out for whatever reason that I do not understand anyway so let's not get into that any deeper.

what you can do is select the output of all your tracks including the masterfader and set it to (option) bur 3-4.

Then you create a new track and set the input of that one also to 3-4. The output to the standard analog output.

Now you start to record on that track. This is a flexible way of recording. YOu can still change anything in the session and simply record parts that you improved.

When you have it all as you like you select 'Duplicate' from the audiosuite and select the option 'create continuous file'. After you duplicates you go to the regions and you can export as files.....

Play a little with this and see if you can get it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2010, 09:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

My suggestion was so that you could record sections of your mix as you get each part edited. Once you reached the end,(in theory) you would have the whole thing recorded, but in sections(IOW, you would have several regions that you would consolidate and export as a single file(after you checked and touched up any of the region splices). If this isn't making sense, then skip it and leave it for the future.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2010, 02:34 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default Re: editing and bouncing 2 hrs of music

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonkid View Post
no you cannot record by only editing. That advice given was not an aswer to your question. You want to bounce something faster than the time your session takes.

This is not possible. It used to be an option on PT 4 or 3 or 5 or so but not anymore. With the modern times coming our way they took that option out for whatever reason that I do not understand anyway so let's not get into that any deeper.

what you can do is select the output of all your tracks including the masterfader and set it to (option) bur 3-4.

Then you create a new track and set the input of that one also to 3-4. The output to the standard analog output.

Now you start to record on that track. This is a flexible way of recording. YOu can still change anything in the session and simply record parts that you improved.

When you have it all as you like you select 'Duplicate' from the audiosuite and select the option 'create continuous file'. After you duplicates you go to the regions and you can export as files.....

Play a little with this and see if you can get it.
im sorry im too stupid... i just dont understand what you can record ?.. which source are you recording ? what are you recording ? ... because my project is very simple i have 2 hours of music i need to edit. and by editing i mean a very simple thing on this case becasue i just have to cut the silence on that 2 hours recording to reduce it and to bounce it in one full file...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After video editing, bouncing crashes! sjtae macOS 4 01-30-2013 05:32 PM
Which Comes First - The Music or the Editing? dubaifox Post - Surround - Video 9 07-07-2006 02:06 PM
Music Editing Software chakuch General Discussion 3 09-17-2002 07:10 PM
Classical Music Editing legrandice Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-15-2001 01:13 PM
music editing w/ 5.0 LE & audiomedia 3 DMK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-02-2000 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com