Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2017, 01:10 AM
thegrinch thegrinch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: 7 Greylock Road
Posts: 2
Default Unsupported Audio Buffer Size Error ProTools 11 Win10

Hi, I am trying to open a newly downloaded copy of ProTools 11.3 on my computer running Windows 10 and am running into the following error:

"Your audio device is configured with an unsupported audio buffer size. Please select one of the following supported buffer sizes in the device control panel: 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048."

I opened audio settings in the windows control panel but there are no options to change buffer size. Clicking OK or More Info on this error message causes ProTools to close, and there is no way to access ProTools buffer size settings.

How do I fix this?

I have installed ProTools 11 under an iLok License which I was already using on my Mac. Everything else seems to be in order with installation except for this error.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2017, 05:21 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,755
Default Re: Unsupported Audio Buffer Size Error ProTools 11 Win10

It sounds like you're trying to use your audio interface for both Windows and PT and that shouldn't be done. After you've de-selected for system use your audio interface in Windows Control Panel hold down the 'n' key on your computer keyboard when starting PT and you'll be able to select your audio interface.

Also make sure to turn off any power savings measures in Windows Control Panel for not only the computer but the USB ports as well.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2017, 10:26 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Unsupported Audio Buffer Size Error ProTools 11 Win10

And your audio interface needs to have its buffer set to one that Pro tools supports, at least my RME interface does.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel TheVRsNo$ Windows 27 Yesterday 07:28 AM
Pro Tools 12 "Your audio device is configured with an unsupported audio buffer size" Mirela Windows 0 01-08-2016 06:39 AM
Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626 LarrySmileyEL Pro Tools 10 7 01-10-2015 01:55 AM
FYI: PT 10.3.3 complains about unsupported buffer size 2048 Niilo Nuori Windows 0 02-22-2013 04:43 PM
ProTools won't launch; unsupported buffer size DarylG Windows 3 02-23-2011 09:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com