Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:36 PM
cakes cakes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 188
Default What Mac can I buy that will run Tiger?

Hi folks,

I need to buy a faster computer for an upcoming project. I don't want to gamble with Leopard. I'd like to buy a new Mac Pro, but I've been told they won't run Tiger. Can any of the new Macs being sold right now run Tiger? If not, what was the last generation of Mac Pro that could run Tiger?

Thanks,

cakes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:51 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: What Mac can I buy that will run Tiger?

It depends where you buy the macs from, it's getting harder now but if you can buy for a stockist it may still be possible to get a mac which has tiger DVD's and a Leopard drop in DVD. My work got about 20k worth of macs about 6 weeks ago and the majority of them were like this. It's hit and miss and as time ticks on it gets harder, here in the UK there are several dealers which sell slightly older models at a reduction so you don't lose out, maybe you could look for something like that.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2008, 06:22 PM
cakes cakes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 188
Default Re: What Mac can I buy that will run Tiger?

Okay, I was just told that you can install Tiger on a secondary drive and boot the computer using that drive - is anyone using Pro Tools successfully this way?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.4.8 (Tiger) Security Update 2009-005 (Tiger Intel) Help Brushfire Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-25-2009 10:16 PM
Tiger and PT7 Icabod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-30-2005 04:51 PM
001 on Tiger MrMaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-29-2005 11:27 PM
proper panther to tiger with clean tiger install doug_hti Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 07-10-2005 06:00 PM
Tech Question---M-box and tiger TDM & tiger Kawi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-17-2005 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com