Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2019, 04:53 PM
PsyCoNo PsyCoNo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 86
Default All Sort of Weirdness

First off, I'm running Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12.0 on MBP 15,1 on High Sierra 10.13.6. Pro Tools was updated from 2018.8.0 during these issues and nothing changed. I know none of these versions are perfect, but this setup has worked fine until the last month or two.



Some examples of issues:


- I edited together a piece for radio broadcast over the course of most of a day and nothing saved. Over the last 18 years I've developed a habit (neurosis) of saving in between every edit. As such I find it hard to believe I didn't save at all over the whole day?! I should also say when I loaded the session the next day I did so from the Open Recent menu.



- Plug-ins go wonky. One example, I have an instance of Vintage Verb on an aux in this particular session. It behaves differently each time I open the session. The worst is when it sounds like there is a delay (with healthy feedback) inserted before the verb - it also sounds slightly distorted. Ok, so save the setting to a preset, delete the aux track, and insert on a new aux. Settings don't sound the same, not even close! Sometimes it just loads this way (without the delay and distortion, but nothing sounds correct.) This has happened to different plug-ins over many sessions.


- Trimming a clip results in the clip looking trimmed, but not sounding trimmed! Pretty self-explanatory, I trim a clip to remove audio - even pull it way back as an experiment - and the "removed" audio still sounds! This happens irregularly, over random sessions.



- Using RX Connect to send audio to the stand-alone app results in an incorrect selection being sent. I've discussed this with iZotope at length and the feeling is it isn't RX and is probably a PT issue. This constantly sends a selection that is longer than the actual selection I've made. To get around this I thought I would just manually export the selection, import to RX, process, re-import to PT, line it up and all is good! Well, not so! It does export the correct length this way, RX processes it fine, sounds good in Finder, importing sounds good on its initial track, but when I move it to the actual track it sounds like no processing has been applied.


Anyway, etc, etc, etc...



So what is it? Is Avid pissed that I haven't upgraded? Have I finally had it with Pro Tools? Is it the OS? Have I had it with Apple? I do have the dreaded butterfly keyboard adding as many spaces as it wants. This all is making me go a bit bonkers.


Thanks for reading!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2019, 05:24 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: All Sort of Weirdness

Same session, or all copies of a session, or all very different sessions?

When lots of stuff like this happens I suspect a corrupted session.

I'd try trashing prefs and doing a Save In and try working from that copy and see if that helps. And worse case try reimporting content into a new session (I can hear the screams now).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002 and PA routing.. sort of OT? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-20-2006 05:18 AM
S&M,,well sort of,, Homebelly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-11-2003 03:42 PM
what sort of mac for digi 001 littlebear 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-08-2000 03:55 PM
Bug Report (sort of).... regis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-05-2000 10:01 PM
what sort of FWB do I need Steve Rosenthal Storage Subsystems 1 08-11-1999 12:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com