Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-15-2018, 01:21 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,501
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

Quote:
Originally Posted by innesireinar View Post
Agree. But don't understand why we need to pay the annual plan for having only bug fixing
Vanilla didn't get even that!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:48 PM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs NY
Posts: 519
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

First time I’ve ever had to revert to a clone.
Beach balls every mouse click. Not crashing, just beach balls, wait...click again...beach ball....wait....nope!
Back to 2018.7.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2018.4 | HD Native PCIe | HD I/O | 2 x Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Sierra 10.12.6 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v9.6 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:57 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,163
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

People are happy paying for bug fixes?

Strange times we live in. Strange indeed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-16-2018, 12:19 AM
Artis Artis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 41
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

Stable and solid software is what earns my money. Not the new and rushed bells and whistles with bugs that break my workflows. I am waiting for new features, but they must be done properly, whatever time it takes.
So, yes, i am ok paying for bug fixes. Running PT 24/7 without glitch pays my rent. :)
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-16-2018, 01:30 AM
~ufo~ ~ufo~ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tilburg
Posts: 72
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

Now, it's obvious that most people prefer to pay only for new features and not for fixes of features or functionality that they already payed for.

That said, in a situation where the platform is unstable and we're presented with two options:

1. Adding more (potentially bug introducing) features to an unstable platform.
2. Halting new functionality until the previous bugs have been sorted.

It should be pretty obvious that most of us would choose #2, not as a preferred situation, but as the lesser of two evils. Non of this is optimal.
We really shouldn't have been asked to pay subscription for anything but a solid product.

I have been livid at Avid for suggesting I pay for the last few years, since my expensive HD Native system had become damn near unusable.
Now that functionality has somewhat been restored, I will resist less to renewing my subscription.

Personally I really don't need much more from PT than it already does, apart from bug fixes.

Sure, folder tracks would be handy, but the scroll to tracks feature already helps with finding tracks, although I guess it would be nice to be able to hide hidden tracks from view in the track list, or at least make only the active ones appear at the top, but I doubt they'll do that.

Other than that the coolest evolutionary new feature I could think of, is some sort of auto freeze mode, that lets you put certain or all active plugins in a state where they are in a hybrid state between live and frozen. When you're tweaking them they are live and after an idle time (e.g. 5s) they automatically start using idle CPU cycles to freeze. Preferably this would occur not from start to finish, but from the playhead position outwards, but going backwards in time will likely not work. So I guess from slightly before the playback head onward and when that's done it can start from the top to complete the rendered file.
Depending on the load and capability of the processor, this could be in real time (even saving live streams during playback), to sub or super realtime rates.

The advantage of such a system would be that it would free up CPU resources and divide processing much more evenly over time, avoiding spikes as much as possible and allowing for a more stable feeling system, since there's few(er) live processes going on at any given time.
It will create more CPU headroom, for instance allowing you to use a heavy reverb during tracking on playback tracks, because it'll automatically get rendered once you're done tweaking it and the input doesn't change, or even on live input tracks since most of the other processors have been rendered already or are being rendered.

Some one once told me that if you do something (digitally) more than twice, it's worth automating.
Well, a boatload of our processing is happening identically way more than twice in our sessions, which needlessly taxes our capable processors. Especially during low buffer recording/production sessions this can cause issues with some plugins.

An autofreeze function like this, in my opinion would be a very welcome evolution to native DAWs and would further fade the difference between DSP and Native into the past.

I've already posted this idea on Avid link and I'll edit this post with a link to a feature request thread here, if I can find one.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-16-2018, 01:05 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 968
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artis View Post
Stable and solid software is what earns my money. Not the new and rushed bells and whistles with bugs that break my workflows. I am waiting for new features, but they must be done properly, whatever time it takes.
So, yes, i am ok paying for bug fixes. Running PT 24/7 without glitch pays my rent. :)
Cheers!

Why can’t we expect them to do both? After all we are the customer. We need to hold Avid to a higher standard.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.7 | Studio One 4.1 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 TB3 | UAD Octo Sat TB2 | UAD Quad Sat TB2 | Mac Pro 2014 3.5GHZ Hex D500 1TB SSD | 32GB Ram | MacOS Sierra 10.12.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 TB 2 | Samsung EVO 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | UA-6176 | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-16-2018, 02:07 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 594
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

They should introduce a grace period (suspend the expiring date of the plan) until they will release a stable and bugs free version. Only after this they could ask money again. My plan expires in november and I will not renew it. I'm having lots of problems since upgrading to this unlucky 12 and 2018 family.
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2018.10 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-17-2018, 04:49 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~ufo~ View Post
Now, it's obvious that most people prefer to pay only for new features and not for fixes of features or functionality that they already payed for.

That said, in a situation where the platform is unstable and we're presented with two options:

1. Adding more (potentially bug introducing) features to an unstable platform.
2. Halting new functionality until the previous bugs have been sorted.

It should be pretty obvious that most of us would choose #2, not as a preferred situation, but as the lesser of two evils. Non of this is optimal.
We really shouldn't have been asked to pay subscription for anything but a solid product.

I have been livid at Avid for suggesting I pay for the last few years, since my expensive HD Native system had become damn near unusable.
Now that functionality has somewhat been restored, I will resist less to renewing my subscription.

Personally I really don't need much more from PT than it already does, apart from bug fixes.

Sure, folder tracks would be handy, but the scroll to tracks feature already helps with finding tracks, although I guess it would be nice to be able to hide hidden tracks from view in the track list, or at least make only the active ones appear at the top, but I doubt they'll do that.

Other than that the coolest evolutionary new feature I could think of, is some sort of auto freeze mode, that lets you put certain or all active plugins in a state where they are in a hybrid state between live and frozen. When you're tweaking them they are live and after an idle time (e.g. 5s) they automatically start using idle CPU cycles to freeze. Preferably this would occur not from start to finish, but from the playhead position outwards, but going backwards in time will likely not work. So I guess from slightly before the playback head onward and when that's done it can start from the top to complete the rendered file.
Depending on the load and capability of the processor, this could be in real time (even saving live streams during playback), to sub or super realtime rates.

The advantage of such a system would be that it would free up CPU resources and divide processing much more evenly over time, avoiding spikes as much as possible and allowing for a more stable feeling system, since there's few(er) live processes going on at any given time.
It will create more CPU headroom, for instance allowing you to use a heavy reverb during tracking on playback tracks, because it'll automatically get rendered once you're done tweaking it and the input doesn't change, or even on live input tracks since most of the other processors have been rendered already or are being rendered.

Some one once told me that if you do something (digitally) more than twice, it's worth automating.
Well, a boatload of our processing is happening identically way more than twice in our sessions, which needlessly taxes our capable processors. Especially during low buffer recording/production sessions this can cause issues with some plugins.

An autofreeze function like this, in my opinion would be a very welcome evolution to native DAWs and would further fade the difference between DSP and Native into the past.

I've already posted this idea on Avid link and I'll edit this post with a link to a feature request thread here, if I can find one.
Thing is with folder tracks, they were already promised, literally, for this year.. I just can't see it happening, unless there is some rudimentary attempt of it on 31/12/2018. LOL.

Autofreeze is a great idea. You are talking about pre render in motu, where things are being frozen automatically in background to reduce cpu usage on the fly.. When you grab a clip to copy or move it or edit it, it temporarily reverts back to the live version then adjusts the hidden freeze file once editing completed..

However.. I am going to say I don't care about this, because it's a HUGE undertaking, that's a lot of code we are talking about, and Pro Tools needs a hell of a lot of much more important bug fixes.. and yes, i'd take folder tracks as a feature over that, as well as elastic pitch (or ara2).

If Avid fix the low buffer performance problems, the current freeze is good enough to have a balanced count of frozen and live tracks, so that the cpu load won't be an issue.

See, even with this autofreeze idea, there is still that problem of the performance WHILST recording the parts to begin with. THAT is what avid have to fix. Pronto.

In any case, if for some reason they wanted to do this, I would actually vote for a Studio one implementation, because all the freeze functionality that underpins this function is already in pro tools, and it wouldn't be that complicated to add, and a very good compromise to what you are suggesting.

Are you familiar with track transform in S1?
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-17-2018, 07:37 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,336
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

Quote:
Originally Posted by zion View Post
Why can’t we expect them to do both?
We can and we should! But try to understand 64bit PT is still very young
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-17-2018, 08:01 AM
~ufo~ ~ufo~ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tilburg
Posts: 72
Default Re: PT 2018.10 is here

it's not unrealistic to assume there will be a 2018.11 or 2018.12, certainly since .10 was pretty much just a minor bug fix update.

Folder tracks could still arrive this year.

Thanks for the heads up on pre render (pre-gen) in DP. I wasn't aware it already existed!
And there some folks on different forums ripping my idea to shreds as stupid, not even possible etc. Ahhh... the interwebs. :)

I'm not familiar with the way track transform works in S1, I haven't used it yet. I have yet to really produce a track in S1 and since I came across the small print that says the Quantum owners upgrade price to S1 pro doesn't count for Q2 owners, I feel ill inclined to give them any more of my money, just at the moment.

we're in full agreement on your other points by the way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro 2018 w/ UAD Apollo 8p and PT 2018.7 Performance Issues Dudiester Pro Tools 2018 5 08-12-2018 09:33 AM
PT 2018 iLok Cloud + Master account problems TheMightyPig Licensing & Accounts 1 07-25-2018 10:53 AM
PT 2018 iLok Cloud + Master account problems TheMightyPig Pro Tools 2018 0 07-24-2018 02:32 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 06-27-2018 07:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 05:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com