Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2018, 05:29 PM
rickkasten rickkasten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Medway, MA
Posts: 6
Default Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

Running on macOS High Sierra

Whether I launch the app from the Launchpad, the Tool Bar or the Application Manager, it crashes within 1-2 seconds. The icon on the Tool Bar bounces a couple of times, and then nothing. No error messages, no sounds, no app.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2018, 08:43 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

Welcome to the forums and I'm sorry to hear you are having issues getting PTF to run. Unfortunately, without a little more information about your system setup, it is really difficult to give you any troubleshooting advice.

For starters, please read through the Help Us Help You thread, where you will find general setup, optimization and troubleshooting topics.

If you are still having trouble after trying the suggestions in the above thread, please give us more information about your system and I'm sure someone can help get you going.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2018, 01:56 PM
rickkasten rickkasten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Medway, MA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

I've read through that thread, the DUC and the knowledge base, and there is nothing in any of them that I found that is relevant to the problem I'm experiencing. I get no error messages, no popups, no logs; just a bouncing icon for 1 second and then nothing.
  • Computer model and processor speed: MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
  • OS version: macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G65)
  • Hardware: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
  • Pro Tools: Pro Tools | First 2018.7
  • RAM: 16G
  • None or the Scarlett 2i2 (no difference in problems either way)
  • Drives installed: None
  • Troubleshooting: I've tried starting, restarting, and I've fully uninstalled and reinstalled Pro Tools First.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2018, 02:41 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

Bull. There are many posts on DUC that describe symptoms of Pro Tools/Pro Tools First (don't' just look for First) "silently" not launching. And you should have already just tried the basic troubleshooting you were pointed to. And lots of discussion on 2i2 issues... which should have motivated to be sure to get that out of any testing.

I'm not sure I believe there was nothing logged anywhere. Where exactly did you look? macOS logs (Console.app), system.log etc.??? Specifically is there anything in system.log, Library/Log/Avid and ~Library/Log/Avid . (dlog files are only of use to Avid, but show stuff is being logged).

---

Specific basic troubleshooting things to try:

Hold down the 'N' key while Pro Tools First is starting and keep it held down until you see the playback engine dialog appear and then select "Built in Output" (just as a test).

Trash prefs. See "help us help you" top of each DUC web page.

Create a new macOS admin account and try running PTF from there.

If that does not fix it uninstall and reinstall the app and repeat the above.

If that does not fix it your macOS install is likely at fault, especially if you have been doing in-situ OS upgrades. install a full clean macOS image on a spare drive or partition and do a minimal install with just Pro Tools First and ILM. If that works install other stuff and then clone that over your current boot drive, making archive/backups of course. Do not use the system migration assistant (aks assasin) to migrate apps or drivers. User accounts if you really have to.

----

Was a previous version of Pro Tools (any version) installed or ever installed? Did it work?

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-14-2018 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:52 PM
rickkasten rickkasten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Medway, MA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

- Hold down the 'N' key while Pro Tools First is starting
Pro Tools First doesn't start. Holding down 'N' does nothing.
- Trash prefs
I have no prefs (no 'Avid' directory, no com.avid.ProTools.*), because PTF has never started
- new macOS admin account
Same result: icon bounces once and disappears
- uninstall and reinstall
I've done this three times already, and I've done it again following these instructions, same result.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:56 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

Well next step is in the list above.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2018, 08:58 PM
rickkasten rickkasten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Medway, MA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

If the next step is to reinstall my OS, then I'm out. This isn't Windows 95, this is macOS in 2018. I've been using Mac exclusively for years, and this is the first time I have ever heard of a piece of software with a troubleshooting step of "reinstall the OS". Sorry, thanks for the help, but I'll be moving on from Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-20-2018, 10:05 AM
skystudios skystudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickkasten View Post
Running on macOS High Sierra

Whether I launch the app from the Launchpad, the Tool Bar or the Application Manager, it crashes within 1-2 seconds. The icon on the Tool Bar bounces a couple of times, and then nothing. No error messages, no sounds, no app.
give them some money, watch
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2018, 07:44 PM
clutch clutch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: wellington, nz
Posts: 437
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

Are you connected to the internet while you're trying to start up PTF? I have seen issues in the past where not having a working internet connection caused the same problem.
Also, have a look in /Application/Utilities/Console.app to see if any lines are written while you're trying to start the software, then search for any errors to see if others are having the same issue.
__________________
He used to cut the grass...he was a very nice boy...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-28-2018, 10:44 PM
denisbill denisbill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: New York
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools First 18.7.0.201 doesn't start

I've read through that thread, the DUC, and the knowledge base, and there is nothing in any of them that I found that is relevant to the problem I'm experiencing. I get no error messages, no popups, no logs; just a bouncing icon for 1 second and then nothing. Epson error code 0xf1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 9 HD doesn't Start petoreto Pro Tools 12 0 03-21-2016 10:29 AM
pro tools doesn't start I need help frostit Pro Tools Software (Mac) 10 02-07-2011 10:51 AM
Pro Tools doesn't start Chris4metal Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 04-15-2010 06:13 PM
Pro Tools 7 Doesn't Start kivaz Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 02-19-2010 10:07 PM
Pro Tools LE doesn't start! daniele volpin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-31-1999 04:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com