Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2018, 05:07 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,563
Default Does the HD Native thunderbolt work with Windows?

Does the HD Native Thunderbolt box work with Windows? On a PC with a Thunderbolt 3 port using one of the TB3 to TB2 adapters, like the Apple adapter.

Or do you need to use the PCI card for HD Native on Windows?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Clarett 4Pre & 8Pre / Protools 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2018, 07:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,117
Default Re: Does the HD Native thunderbolt work with Windows?

Pretty sure it does as I remember a protoolsexpert.com video showing a Windows laptop with TB using the Avid box very nicely. You might also shoot an email to guitardom as the Pro-Tools-PC.com website offers TB as an option so I bet he has tested it
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2018, 03:57 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,837
Default Re: Does the HD Native thunderbolt work with Windows?

yes native thunderbolt works on windows but some systems have a secure boot option that needs to be disabled. FYI Native thunderbolt on windows isn't officially supported by Avid.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2018, 08:58 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,563
Default Re: Does the HD Native thunderbolt work with Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
FYI Native thunderbolt on windows isn't officially supported by Avid.
Well, it's a good thing Avid discontinued the PCIe version of the HD Native card.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Clarett 4Pre & 8Pre / Protools 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native Thunderbolt with Windows 10 edaubs Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 06-04-2017 04:09 PM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 11:26 PM
HD Native Thunderbolt Asio driver for Windows 7? greenfendr Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 07-13-2015 01:08 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Will Native Thunderbolt work on PT HD9 version? remm Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 04-23-2013 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com