Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-12-2000, 08:34 AM
tuchel tuchel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N. Hollywood, CA USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please

Is there a lot of heat generated in an ISO box?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-12-2000, 05:20 PM
TMS TMS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Los Angeles Ca.
Posts: 215
Default Re: Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please

If you put your stuff in a seperate room make sure there is plenty of air blowing by your equipment. A couple of little muffen fans won't do it. I've seen guys even rig a small air conditioner to feed the room. The colder the better. Heat kills!

Cheers Craig
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-15-2000, 07:39 AM
JKD99 JKD99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please

I bought an IsoBox awhile back, and I gotta say I really like it. Inside is a 9600 w/ 3 internal drives, a Bit3 7-slot, and 2 18 gig Cheetahs. The Bit3 is SO noisy, and w/ the IsoBox, it's amazingly quiet. There's just a small low-end whirr from the IsoBox's fans in the back of the box (which would probably be inaudible if the box was under the console or something, or at least a few more feet away), and virtually none of the noise from the gear. So there's that.

------------------
Joe Milner
Puget Sound
Los Angeles
__________________
Joe Milner
Puget Sound, Inc.
Los Angeles

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-15-2000, 07:44 AM
JKD99 JKD99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please

Also, a couple weeks ago I was printmastering a film I'd mixed, and brought my CPU and Bit3 to the stage. They had a 50-foot ADB cable, and a 50-foot Monitor cable as well. I'd always been told that the ADB limit was 15 feet or whatever, and that to get that kind of extension you needed a Gefen box, blah blah. Well, this worked perfectly. No problems. On Monday I'll call the stage and find out the details on these cables and post them, because it sure was simple!

------------------
Joe Milner
Puget Sound
Los Angeles
__________________
Joe Milner
Puget Sound, Inc.
Los Angeles

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-15-2000, 08:02 AM
Jim Clark
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please

I also bought 25' extensions from Geffen for my monitors and keyboard - it's a beautiful thing! Never had a problem.

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-15-2000, 10:38 AM
Gary Stadler Gary Stadler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 255
Default Re: Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please

Ahh, all you guys need to learn to solder!!

My computers are in a different room...I simply bought multi-conductor cable from the local electronics store, cut and lengthned my ADB, midi and printer cables, then cut the monitor cable and extended it with 5 pcs of shielded cable and a multi for the rest of the wires. For the floppy drive (9600/350) I got a 12 foot piece of ribbon cable and squeezed the correct ends on it (availiable from Radil shack) with a small vice, removed the floppy from the computer and mounted it under my desktop...lets' see, what's left... scsi- just buy a longer cable..that ones' a toughie, unless you use 50 wire ribbon cable, then it's a breeze... It really doesnt take long to extend existing cables this way, and the type of cable is not really all that critical as long as you use shielded wire where needed and make reasonable solder joints and insulate them well, and obviously don't get the wires mixed up. I've made Midi cables as long as 150 feet with no problem...ADB cables 20 feet so far-so good, printer cables 30 feet, video cables 50 feet..it all just works and I don't spend a ton of money on the expensive stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-16-2000, 03:12 PM
Avgerinos Avgerinos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redding, CT. USA
Posts: 79
Default Re: Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please

I also have my G4/drives/interfaces in my machine room/closet . Like Stadler , I just extended the cables as needed. It all works great , and I REALLY love the quiet ! ! !
Paul Avgerinos , Studio-Unicorn.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTHD Machine Room Soundtrack2life Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 03-10-2011 10:01 AM
Machine Room Temperature D Bag Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2008 12:03 PM
Should my 192i/o's go in the machine room? everglass Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-22-2002 05:34 AM
How can I put the computer and hard drives in a machine room. rodrigal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-27-2001 03:46 AM
Control PT machine from another room? ponyboy Tips & Tricks 0 10-29-1999 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com