Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2019, 03:41 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,064
Default D-Control - all faders stuck down (?)

Worked in a new room today with a D-Control ES. Weirdly, everything worked on the board, except the faders that all stayed down. When I did move them (the entire distance up and down), they registered extremely low-level moves in Pro Tools.

Is there a mode where this would occur that I was stuck in? What could have caused this? I'm a Dock/S3 guy and couldn't figure this one out.

Fortunately, it was a very short and easy session, so I mixed on the dynamics and EQ modules and the clients didn't seem to notice.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2019, 04:33 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: D-Control - all faders stuck down (?)

There is a Fine mode for the rotary encoders.
It's also possible the console was in "Faders Off" Mode.

A power cycle of the console probably would have fixed it or a re calibration of the faders in the Utility menu on the console.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2019, 05:52 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,603
Default Re: D-Control - all faders stuck down (?)

I had this happen at work yesterday. I tried everything, power cycling, recalibrating, moving fader rapidly, moving pro tools fader rapidly... until I did this and it's been fine since.

Option click the pro tools fader to -0, the physical fader followed and woke up. Hope that does it! (if the problem is still occurring 2 months later)
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2019, 06:05 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: D-Control - all faders stuck down (?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Worked in a new room today with a D-Control ES. Weirdly, everything worked on the board, except the faders that all stayed down. When I did move them (the entire distance up and down), they registered extremely low-level moves in Pro Tools.

Is there a mode where this would occur that I was stuck in? What could have caused this? I'm a Dock/S3 guy and couldn't figure this one out.

Fortunately, it was a very short and easy session, so I mixed on the dynamics and EQ modules and the clients didn't seem to notice.
Sounds like you had a control Flipped to Faders. Like a send that was nulled out. Or, the faders were turned off for “quiet” mode.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2019, 07:05 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,064
Default Re: D-Control - all faders stuck down (?)

Thanks guys. I rarely work at that studio, so I haven't had a chance to follow-up. But this info will help the next time I'm there. Appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3L(-X) faders stuck or not responsive haarekk VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 11-10-2014 08:22 AM
faders get stuck Rockpolice VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 10-29-2011 02:19 PM
Faders won't bank. I'm stuck. travistko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-16-2009 07:11 AM
Using LE System. First 8 control 24 faders stuck? Xuser ICON & C|24 5 12-17-2005 05:14 PM
Faders are STUCK like CHUCK mudnoc ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 03-01-2005 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com