Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:17 AM
notedmusic notedmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California, near LA
Posts: 401
Unhappy More PT 10 nightmare

Ok more bug report here.

Scrubbing fails miserably in PT10 under Windows 7 x64. If I import a video (any file type) for example- .mov and then start to sync up my music with it about 2 minutes into my session the machine gets "stuck" on a frame within the video. I have fiddled with every stinking setting and it has not fixed the issue.
Other Video issues:
Some video imports do not scrub... ever. For example .WMV files will only jump to location after the mouse click and will frequently get stuck and "catch up" getting out of sync. Others still will not import at all or give an error about "no frames" while they import perfectly into PT9. So... the video engine in PT10 is a mess.

Most files if created with PT10 will stop scrubbing fairly quickly. If a session is imported it will work unless it is a large file, but upon saving as the new PT format it will fail again on import.

Avid... please get this fixed.

For the record (if it helps) I am using an ATI video card 6870 1GB and do have a couple of codecs installed, but removing them did not solve this bug.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:41 AM
notedmusic notedmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California, near LA
Posts: 401
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

Chassis : Chassis Manufacture Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS M4A79 Deluxe
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 3702 08/20/2010
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR2

Processors
Processor : AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor (4C 3.41GHz/3.4GHz, 2GHz IMC, 4x 512kB L2, 6MB L3)

Chipset
Memory Controller : ATI (AMD) RD790 GFX Dual Slot 2x 2GHz (4GHz) FSB
Memory Controller : AMD F10 Athlon 64/Opteron/Sempron HT Hub 2x 2GHz (4GHz) FSB, 2x 4GB DIMM DDR2 2x 402MHz (804MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ2RPR10662G 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-8500U DDR2-1066 (5-5-5-15 3-24-6-3)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ2RPR10662G 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-8500U DDR2-1066 (5-5-5-15 3-24-6-3)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ2RPR10662G 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-8500U DDR2-1066 (5-5-5-15 3-24-6-3)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ2RPR10662G 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-8500U DDR2-1066 (5-5-5-15 3-24-6-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series (1120 SM5.0 920MHz/900MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.2GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series (1120SP 14C 920MHz/900MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.2GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series (1120SP 920MHz/900MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.2GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:) (Z:)
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (E:)
WDC WD10EALX-009BA0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache) : 932GB (F:)
ASUS BW-12B1LT (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 931GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
The Atom (E:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
EASTWEST (F:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD10EALX-009BA0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache)
Hard Disk (Z:) : 100MB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ ASUS BW-12B1LT (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ATI (AMD) IXP SB600/700/800 SMBUS Controller
LPC Hub Controller 2 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 LPC host controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : ASUS IXP SB600 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 888 High Definition Audio
Audio Device : MSI Radeon 68xx HDMI Audio (NI Barts)
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) HDMI Audio
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
Disk Controller : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 IDE
USB Controller 1 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI0 Controller
USB Controller 2 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI1 Controller
USB Controller 3 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 4 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI0 Controller
USB Controller 5 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI1 Controller
USB Controller 6 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 7 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI2 Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : ASUS VT6315 Series Firewire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : ATI SB700 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : PDFill Writer (4000x4000, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP Photosmart C4400 series (1200x1200, USB, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : SHARP DX-B450P PCL (1200x1200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Anchorfree HSS Adapter (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : HP 802.11b/g Wireless Network Adapter (802.11g (ERP), 54Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2012, 10:25 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

Tough to be sure since AMD systems are not as well documented regarding compatibility. A few things to look into; wifi and networking should be DISABLED when running PT. Not sure what interface you have, but on my Asus i5 setup, the onboard firewire would not work at all(adding an approved SIIG card solved that one). You might try running the generic VGA driver instead of the ATI stuff, or check for updates from ATI.com(since it does seem like a graphics issue)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2012, 08:45 PM
hue hue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 162
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

I would bet that it has to do with the ATI Graphics. I had nothing but issues with mine. It all went away when i put my old Nvidia card back in. This is with PT9 mind you but I just haven't bothered to go back to ATI after that.
__________________
Intel i7 4770
Dell XPS 8700
16 Gig DDR3
1 x 1TB System Drive
1 x 320Gig Seagate HDD
1 x 500Gig Seagate HDD
UAD-2 Solo
Steinberg UR44
KRK RP5
Windows 10 Pro. 64 bit
Sonar Platinum
Cubase 8
Sony Acid Pro 7
Sampletank 2 XL
EZDrummer
Guitar Rig 5
ProTools 12.3

All legit software thank you very much.

Yes I have a low post count but only because I don't have a lot of problems with my gear.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2012, 11:12 PM
notedmusic notedmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California, near LA
Posts: 401
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

I will try again with different drivers, but I highly doubt it is an ATI issue. I did not have this issue on PT9.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2012, 05:46 PM
Forest Wilson Forest Wilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hollister, United States of America
Posts: 10
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

I'm experiencing a similar issue with my Windows 7 PC. Today I brought up an old video cut scene mix I had done in PT 9. In PT 10 that same session would not display a frame by frame scrub of the video when I used the drag tool to move a clip. In PT 9 doing this action would result in the video display showing the video frame at the leading edge of my clip as I dragged it around. In PT 10 I would get a blank video screen as I was dragging. After I released the clip the screen stayed blank until I hit play. This is no bueno. Is this a bug?

-Forest
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2012, 10:29 PM
Forest Wilson Forest Wilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hollister, United States of America
Posts: 10
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

Has anyone on this thread updated to 10.1.2? I see some video issues listed in the Read Me as being corrected. Did the update do the trick?

-Forest
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2012, 07:51 PM
notedmusic notedmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California, near LA
Posts: 401
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

This issue I think was fixed in the latest update, but that update crashes like no tomorrow... Avid needs to get these PT10 issues worked out ASAP!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:51 PM
Forest Wilson Forest Wilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hollister, United States of America
Posts: 10
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

Oh man, maybe I'll just live with it for now and skip this update and wait for the next. You'd think with the price of this software it would work right the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:14 PM
notedmusic notedmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California, near LA
Posts: 401
Default Re: More PT 10 nightmare

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Wilson View Post
Oh man, maybe I'll just live with it for now and skip this update and wait for the next. You'd think with the price of this software it would work right the first time.
I... would have to agree with that. We aren't beta testers. We are end users!

Try v2.0 I think they fixed it.
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer
MAC PRO 32gb ddr3 12-core 1TB D700 "DarthVader"
Pro Tools 11 HD
HD Omni/Thunderbolt Native
A bucketload of libraries
www.Reverbnation.com/jedediahjenk
www.soundcloud.com/jedediahjenk
notedmusic.wix.com/jedediahjenk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me with my nightmare tomyco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-01-2011 07:53 AM
Nightmare or not ! French links 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-24-2008 03:34 PM
OMS nightmare HELP drumbar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-22-2003 11:30 PM
HD Nightmare !! Allan Speers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 08-03-2002 10:00 AM
PCI BUS NIGHTMARE! byteme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-10-1999 06:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com