Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:33 AM
brinaddison brinaddison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 507
Default Problem with lag time when pressing record?? Help

I'm having this problem that I can't seem to identify. I'm working on an HD3 Accel system on a G5 and when I want to record, all my signal goes quiet for about 5 seconds and then all of a sudden it starts to record. If I'm playing the session and I just hit the record button in quickpunch mode, everything works just fine, but when I'm wanting to record live tracks from the top of the session, I get this lag before the thing kicks in?

Any ideas?

The funny thing is that I'm using a session template and with one of the recordings (same template) I don't have this problem. I also tried setting NO pre/post-roll but that didn't do anything.

Please help me find the culprit.
Thanks,
Brin.
-------
__________________
www.hypeschwartz.com

Digi001
(RME adi-8 pro)
G4 MMD Dual 1g + 1.25g RAM
PTLE 6.4 (DVToolkit)
Mac. OS 10.3.3
3 Lacie 80g FW Audio Drives
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:15 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Problem with lag time when pressing record?? Help

Did you check your setting in "Open Ended Record Allocation" <in the Preferences Operations tab>? Maybe it is set to Use all Available space and ProTools takes some time to map out the recording path everytime you hit record while stationary. However you would have the same delay when pressing play if you are in quickpunch mode so it does sound a little strange. . .
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:23 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Problem with lag time when pressing record?? Help

try lowering your record time setting. you are probably set to open ended, try 10 min or so.

search for this topic it has been covered
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:49 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Problem with lag time when pressing record?? H

also make sure you haven't got the countoff turned on in the transport window.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:51 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Problem with lag time when pressing record?? Help

make sure MIDI countoff is disabled (this is not the same as preroll)
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:13 PM
brinaddison brinaddison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 507
Default Re: Problem with lag time when pressing record?? Help

Thanks for the tips folks, I try them out. The thing that gets me is that the one session did not and still doesn't suffer from this. They all originated from the same template.

I was recording live shows that lasted about 45min per band, so reducing the record time would not work for me in this situation. I'll keep troubleshooting this on my own too.

I have seen posts on this topic, but when I did a search, I just couldn't find any. It's always there when you don't need it. Kind of like the Police huh.......hahaha

Anyway, thanks again.
Brin.
------------
__________________
www.hypeschwartz.com

Digi001
(RME adi-8 pro)
G4 MMD Dual 1g + 1.25g RAM
PTLE 6.4 (DVToolkit)
Mac. OS 10.3.3
3 Lacie 80g FW Audio Drives
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:03 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Problem with lag time when pressing record?? H

a very high possibility that you enabled the countoff option

expand your transport and verify it as OFF
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feedback when pressing record in PT 9 on OS 10.8.2 fmatthewdoyle@yahoo.com macOS 1 12-30-2012 04:07 PM
Pressing Play or Record, Nothing Happens?? Rockdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-25-2009 09:54 PM
delay when pressing record or stopping record mrufino1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 03-06-2006 09:29 PM
Delay time after pressing record(Digi001-LE) Tarek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 08-28-2003 11:41 AM
cant record audio after pressing record and play caireniuss Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 12-30-2002 06:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com