Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2013, 06:27 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 942
Default 192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro

Hello,

I'd like to know if this would work; I'd like to send the word clock out of my 192 I/O to the word clock input of my Bass Pod Pro. Here's the unknown; my Bass Pod Pro is located about 20 ft from the 192 I/O. Can I use a 75 ohm to 110 ohm transformer connected to the word clock out of the 192 so I can send the word clock via a long AES cable and then using another 110 ohm to 75 ohm transformer(or word clock distribution box) and back into the word clock input of the Bass Pod Pro.

Will this setup lock without any clocking related issues?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2013, 06:39 AM
priorytools priorytools is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,212
Default Re: 192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro

If you you can run 1 coax cable from one to the other , , that's you're starting point. . .
That length doesn't sound like a problem to me . .
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2013, 06:52 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 942
Default Re: 192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro

Thanks for your reply.

I think I'm past the acceptable length to get away with bnc terminated coax, that's why I want to know if these 110 to 75 transformers work properly with AES cabling to transmit word clock.
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2013, 09:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,328
Default Re: 192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro

If you're afraid, or if it does not work to begin with, just place another active device in the middle. Whatever device that does not need to take part in your signal chain. As long as it's active then it can output "full signal" and get you farther away from your 192
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2013, 09:57 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 942
Default Re: 192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro

Thanks!

The thing is I have a master clock(in storage). I haven't had the need to clock anything digital externally(besides a PCM 81-via AES) until now. I'd like to avoid clocking to an external master clock, that's why I'd like to see if I can lock this Bass Pod Pro off of the 192's wc out.
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2013, 11:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,328
Default Re: 192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro

Just try it. Clocking is not rocket science. It's kind of digital signal, it works or not. You will hear nasty clicks or pops if the clock won't lock. If it locks, you're good.

In theory.

Practical side says if you have X amount of cable it makes the signal Y decibels lower. And if you split that signal there goes 3dB. But as long as you stay over the minimum required, the gear is able to lock to it and it's enough.

That said; I would probably run an analog cable as a backup and record both of them. It might be so that you prefer the analog one, or not. Either way you have a backup if the clocking starts to break up.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2013, 12:07 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 942
Default Re: 192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro

Definitely will be recording the analog outs. I'll try it for sure. I also plan on testing it with the transformers. I happen to have one laying around. I'll need to order a second to try it out.

I'll post when I'm done testing.

Thanks again!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS UK: LA Audio Word Clock / Super Clock Generator DigitalMetal Buy & Sell 0 12-05-2012 04:22 PM
Can I clock my 888's off of regulat word clock? Seeee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-22-2005 01:50 PM
192 IO Word Clock AEW Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-12-2003 08:35 AM
Convert word clock to spdif clock - cheap solution? molokoplus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-20-2003 01:49 AM
MTC & Word Clock for PT LE Vik MIDI 0 07-27-2001 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com