Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2005, 01:12 PM
Seeee Seeee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,050
Default Can I clock my 888\'s off of regulat word clock?

I just bought this EMU 1212m and am gonna run it on a PC. I am just gonna mix to it coming off of my console.

They also have a sync card that goes with it for 75.00 or something. it has word clock i/o. probably not superclock (x256) though

would there be any benefit to clocking off of this thing at all? supposedly it has the same converters as the HD 192 systems.

here's what i want to do and it's retarded but might work...

mix to the EMU card (no doubt better than the 888/24 converters) BUT... instead of recording it on the PC, use the cue mix software to route the signal via spdif back to my 888/24 and record it back into pro tools this way. I assume I can set my pro tools to digital sync. should I still attempt to sync off word clock or just use the spdif clock?

is my theory flawed?

I should just go buy a real clock and tell the wife i am the man in the house. right? haha. OK, cant do that.



'
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2005, 01:28 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,767
Default Re: Can I clock my 888\'s off of regulat word clock?

Assuming this is not an expanded HD system. The 888 requires 256x superclock so you cannot use 1x word clock directly. A USD or SYNC I/O or some other peripheral with superclock output is required. Your S/PDIF clock example should work fine.

regards,
Digidesign Technical Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2005, 01:50 PM
Seeee Seeee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Can I clock my 888\'s off of regulat word clock

That answered my question. thanks DigiTechSupt!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
192 I/O Word Clock out to clock Bass Pod Pro Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-18-2013 12:07 PM
FS UK: LA Audio Word Clock / Super Clock Generator DigitalMetal Buy & Sell 0 12-05-2012 04:22 PM
Word clock ! jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-21-2008 08:27 PM
Convert word clock to spdif clock - cheap solution? molokoplus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-20-2003 01:49 AM
rosetta clock with 888's univox1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-12-2002 06:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com