Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #241  
Old 01-23-2014, 10:52 PM
stormstudios stormstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 70
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

I thought the iLok requirement was a bug on the windows side they were trying to fix.

Yes, I understand the 11R should be hooked up but I didn't even get to that window. That's what I was trying to get to when this happened.
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 01-23-2014, 11:17 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,760
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by stormstudios View Post
I thought the iLok requirement was a bug on the windows side they were trying to fix.

Yes, I understand the 11R should be hooked up but I didn't even get to that window. That's what I was trying to get to when this happened.
As far as I know, no.

The iLok License Manager is required on both OSX and WIN.
I believe it has to do with a signing requirement for the AAX protocol, but i'm not an Avid developer partner, so I don't have access to the SDK or that info.

That said, the iLok License Manager should install automatically if not present when you install the Editor.

If it does not, try manually installing it from www.ilok.com

Restart the computer.

Try launching the Editor.

You don't need an iLok, just the Manager/driver.

The Eleven Rack should be connected and ON before you install the Editor. Do you have the 11R driver installed?
www.avid.com/drivers


Quote:
Q: Is an iLok or iLok 2 required?

A: No, though there are some PACE elements that are required. If you get an error like "iLok isn't present" you can download and install the iLok License Manager which will install the necessary items.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/f...nRackEditorFAQ
Troubleshooting:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...en-Rack-Editor
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 01-24-2014, 12:11 AM
pitbulltodd pitbulltodd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Salem
Posts: 27
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbulltodd View Post
i thought i installed the editor but can't find it to launch. no desktop icon or anything else. ???
FYI in case anybody else has this same problem. when i used firefox to download the editor it would go through the installation process but wouldn't actually install it. i switched to internet explorer and the install process went just like it should and i now have the 11 rack standalone editor. works great.
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 01-24-2014, 12:19 AM
Tony-N Tony-N is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Örnsköldsvik Sweden
Posts: 79
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Great to see the editor is finally online, too bad it's not working.

I am on Win Home 64-bit so that should be okay.

The first and second time I installed the editor I got a message saying the installation of the editor failed, but gave me an option to continue on, which I did. After the installation I had the iLok desktop icon.
The second installation actually did give me an Eleven Rack Editor desktop icon, even though that was not supposed to happen?

After starting the editor, with the 11R switched on and plugged in, all I get is a big blank window on whick nothing happens. After clicking on the window the program doesn't respond, and I have to kill it manually to get rid of it.

Do I have to go to iLok and download that software even though it seems to be installed anyway thorugh the installer?

Why the use and installations of PACE and ILok stuff when it's a free editor?
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 01-24-2014, 12:22 AM
Tony-N Tony-N is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Örnsköldsvik Sweden
Posts: 79
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbulltodd View Post
FYI in case anybody else has this same problem. when i used firefox to download the editor it would go through the installation process but wouldn't actually install it. i switched to internet explorer and the install process went just like it should and i now have the 11 rack standalone editor. works great.
How do you know that was a Firefox issue?

What does the type of browser have to do with the installation process after downloading it??

Or did you install it directly from the website through the browser?
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 01-24-2014, 12:25 AM
pitbulltodd pitbulltodd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Salem
Posts: 27
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony-N View Post
Great to see the editor is finally online, too bad it's not working.

I am on Win Home 64-bit so that should be okay.

The first and second time I installed the editor I got a message saying the installation of the editor failed, but gave me an option to continue on, which I did. After the installation I had the iLok desktop icon.
The second installation actually did give me an Eleven Rack Editor desktop icon, even though that was not supposed to happen?

After starting the editor, with the 11R switched on and plugged in, all I get is a big blank window on whick nothing happens. After clicking on the window the program doesn't respond, and I have to kill it manually to get rid of it.

Do I have to go to iLok and download that software even though it seems to be installed anyway thorugh the installer?

Why the use and installations of PACE and ILok stuff when it's a free editor?
it took my editor a long time to go from a blank screen to the actual editor, like 3 or 4 minutes
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 01-24-2014, 12:31 AM
pitbulltodd pitbulltodd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Salem
Posts: 27
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony-N View Post
How do you know that was a Firefox issue?

What does the type of browser have to do with the installation process after downloading it??

Or did you install it directly from the website through the browser?
i'm assuming it had something to do with firefox because the only thing i did different to make it work was switching to internet explorer. i'm just guessing but maybe it didn't download correctly using firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 01-24-2014, 01:28 AM
Tony-N Tony-N is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Örnsköldsvik Sweden
Posts: 79
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbulltodd View Post
it took my editor a long time to go from a blank screen to the actual editor, like 3 or 4 minutes
Thanks, I'll try that. :)

Do you have to wait several minutes every time you start the editor?
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 01-24-2014, 04:19 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,295
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

A couple of days ago I updated my ILM software; when I install the 11R editor will it overwrite what I have? I know people here are saying if you don't have ILM it will install it but I just want to be sure.

It's been too cold here in NJ to do too much of anything; poor heater is having all it can do to keep things warm.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 01-24-2014, 06:01 AM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 390
Default Re: Eleven Rack Standalone Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony-N View Post

After starting the editor, with the 11R switched on and plugged in, all I get is a big blank window on which nothing happens. After clicking on the window the program doesn't respond, and I have to kill it manually to get rid of it.
I am having the same issue with Win 7 Pro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbulltodd View Post
it took my editor a long time to go from a blank screen to the actual editor, like 3 or 4 minutes
Yes I just let it run too. Then a few minutes later, it reported that it was loading rigs and getting layout (the two little progress windows appeared) then it minimized itself to the task bar and there it stayed.

I tied to kill the process but it still ran. I had the crash the window (right click close) in order for it to stop.

Pro Tools 11 and 10 are both still running without any issue.

Weird to say the least.
__________________
Squaw Creek Road Studio
Bob
Pro Tools Standard (2021.3)| Pro Tools Carbon | Sibelius Ultimate (current version)
|
3.6GHz 8-core 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac w/40GB RAM | 1TB SSD | macOS Catalina |

Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack - Standalone - No sound on startup schristie Eleven Rack 101 07-26-2015 10:31 AM
Eleven Rack standalone Editor: Can it "lock hardware tempo to session tempo"? ToddnTodd Eleven Rack 17 02-02-2014 02:29 AM
Eleven Rack Editor Now Available Avid Technical Alerts 0 01-23-2014 09:02 AM
Eleven Rack not Booting in Standalone Mode mjmurray Eleven Rack 2 07-16-2012 10:29 PM
Eleven Rack Standalone driver, and editor. Blurgh Eleven Rack 22 01-09-2012 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com