Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2002, 04:16 PM
protooleo protooleo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 28
Default Re: OMS/AMT8/USB Extend It problems

I have the same setup. I have my USB exstended with the "geffen100" my computer sees my amt8 fine and I have the Digi Pre hooked up to it also, it all works fine. I am about 60 feet away from my computer. Sounds like OMS needs to be setup right.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2002, 04:38 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: OMS/AMT8/USB Extend It problems

Definitely, check the AMT8 out without the Extendit to establish that it's working OK.

This might not work in your case, but for some folks, it might be useful...

I've got some E4XT's and GigaStudio machines in my machine room. I have an AMT8 plugged in via USB directly to the computer in the machine room. Then, I use a serial cable (as Emagic recommends) to go from the first interface to the other three in my studio. In my case, the serial cable is 30', but I've heard of others going much farther (especially if you use quality wire). It's certainly a way to get some cable length on an AMT8 network without using any costly USB extension devices (an AMT8 from the discount retailers is probably cheaper than the Extendit, too).

DB9 connectors are fairly easy to make. Places like Markertek stock the Mini-DINs, but they're harder to work with. One solution for making long cables with Mini-DINs is to use a commercially made cable for the ends, splicing into it with high quality cable for the length of the runs. Use small shrink wrap for the individual connections, then a big piece of shrink wrap over the whole works. Pretty much anyone that's ever used a soldering iron and a heat gun can do it.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2002, 12:00 AM
LKing LKing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: ny,ny usa
Posts: 66
Default OMS/AMT8/USB Extend It problems

Has anyone had any problems with such a set up ???? Specifically OMS not seeing the AMT 8 ?? which is running through the extendIt.....

I have not had a chance to try the AMT8 without the "extend it" but will. Just wanted to know if anyone has had any experience with the setup (BTW it's on a Dual 1gig Quicksilver)

thanks
Lou
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unitor8 for 6.0, or just AMT8 & MT4??? MMazurek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-18-2003 09:26 AM
AMT8 SETUP...HELP PLEASE QXR987 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 09-11-2002 08:04 AM
HUI/AMT8/MIX DJBorrmann Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 12:02 AM
PTLE and AMT8 petter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-22-2002 03:56 PM
Emagic AMT8 Lydriket as Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-03-2000 12:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com