Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2007, 12:12 AM
stern stern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Default Play/Edit Marker stopped following the timeline selection

If anyone can help me with this one, I would be very grateful.

In the middle of editing a session, suddenly the play/start marker no longer follows my timeline selection. I have the corresponding box checked in the "Operation" preferences (as it was previously as well), but it makes no difference. The symptoms are the following. It doesn't matter where I place the cursor. Playback begins at another place (the place where the cursor was when the behavior began). Interestingly enough, after I stop playback, the cursor blinks at the place where I was trying to place it. But playback is always at the other location. The only way I have found to move the playback point is to use the |<, <<, >>, and >>| transport buttons.

I assume that while editing, I hit some key sequence that either put PT in some different mode that I haven't noticed or changed some preference that I can't locate. I have tried exiting and restarting ProTools, creating a new session and importing my session data and tracks over to the new session, etc, in the hopes that I can create a session that behaves the way it was behaving prior to a half hour ago, but no luck. It seems to be a setting that has changed for PT as a whole instead of the one session.

Any help is greatly appreciated as I can't make any progress on the session in its current state.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2007, 12:37 AM
stern stern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Play/Edit Marker stopped following the timeline selection

Never mind. I figured it out just now, by pouring over the reference guide with a little bit of luck, I think. I somehow managed to deselect "Link Timeline and Edit Selection" in the Options menu.

As a side note to Digi, this would be better off as a preference item rather than a pull-down menu item. I'm not sure why it isn't in the Operation preferences with the rest of the playback marker options. I'm not sure why anyone would want to change this on a regular basis.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2007, 12:50 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Play/Edit Marker stopped following the timeline selection

Quote:
I'm not sure why anyone would want to change this on a regular basis.
Actually, I can think of several and use it frequently.







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3? Richard901 Pro Tools 10 32 02-02-2015 08:35 AM
Grr.. Link Timeline Edit Track Edit Timeline Selection confusion deepfrequencies Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 02-06-2014 03:40 PM
TIMELINE SELECTION MARKER??? craigdwlr Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 11-12-2007 10:03 PM
Timeline Selection Marker error S.L.R 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-25-2007 02:22 PM
Play/Edit Marker stopped follow timeline selection stern 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-23-2007 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com