Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2005, 06:13 PM
scoobydoo scoobydoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 166
Default Sound Blaster+PCI latency tweak=stable machine?

I've always had problems running most SB cards while using PTLE. In the past I had to disable them before starting up PT. I've been recently doing research on why these cards conflict with the DIGI O01. The best stuff I've read points to the PCI latency issue, and that the SB cards default to a really awkward setting. I've found a teak utility that allows you to change the latency settings of your cards at will. Has anybody gotten their Sound Blaster card to live happily ever after along side a DIGI001 card without having to disable it all the time? Or, can anybody point me to some good posts/info about this problem?

Thanks dudes.

ABIT KT7A
PTLE 6.4
SB Audigy
__________________
You gotta get it in the mic!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:03 PM
Sacred Spirit Sacred Spirit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: Sound Blaster+PCI latency tweak=stable machine?

My problem was with the Beta version of Wavedriver back in PTLE v5.3.1. Eventually my XP configuration was simply unusable for PTLE. I destroyed my XP config trying to uninstall the Wavedriver. Then created a new alternate OS boot and PTLE was back to normal.
I simply didn't expect anything Windows sound related to pass through my OO1. My SB Live Value card and DigiOO1 lived side by side happily ever after.
__________________
MusicXPC 2.8/512
PTLE 6.4 CS6&9
Waves: Platinum(5) & IR1 (5.1)
DigiOO2 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:29 PM
scoobydoo scoobydoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 166
Default Re: Sound Blaster+PCI latency tweak=stable machine?

Really, you got your SB Live and your 001 to play nice? Your a better geek than I.

Anybody else get this to happen?
__________________
You gotta get it in the mic!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2005, 09:49 PM
scoobydoo scoobydoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 166
Default Re: Sound Blaster+PCI latency tweak=stable machine?

this also apears in the digi answer base:

Can I run my soundblaster card in the same hardware profile with my Digi 001 or Audiomedia III system on Win98 SE or WinME?

It is known that many Sound blaster cards will share the parallel port IRQ without any indication in Windows. Although Soundblaster card's usually present little problems running in the same computer as Digidesign hardware, this IRQ arrangement may cause crashing problems on some systems. To disable:

- Right-click MY COMPUTER, select PROPERTIES.
- Select the DEVICE MANAGER tab, and look for Creative Misc. Devices. If found, double-click anything that says Legacy Emulation, and checkmark the Disable. Hit OK. If not found, check in your Sound, Video and Game controllers for anything that says Legacy Emulation or Legacy Audio and disable.



ID:8199 Created:06/12/2002



I can find these Legacy Audio Drivers listed in my device manager, but there is no option to dissable. Is there any other way to put the smack down on this use of the parrallel port IRQ without windows knowing? Like dissabling the whole damn IRQ? Or manybe just deleting the driver file that runs this thing?
__________________
You gotta get it in the mic!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2005, 10:39 PM
Sacred Spirit Sacred Spirit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: Sound Blaster+PCI latency tweak=stable machine?

Windows XP creates virtual IRQ's while working in the OS. If you have the drivers loaded to do legacy DOS apps (never got Descent II working with sound in XP, for instance), then yes, you can have IRQ errors. You can see the IRQ settings under Start/Run/msinfo32.exe.

Changing the slot where the OO1 PCI card is inserted may change the interupt. I always kept the OO1 card in the bottom slot (furthest away from the graphics card slot).

You can also get into your device manager in Start/Control Panel/Hardware/System/Sound, video and game controllers/Creative SB Live (or whatever) and double click and go to resources. If you have plug&play enabled, you probably will not be able to change the IRQ, but you can see if there are any conflicts. You can disable any hardware from these screens also.
__________________
MusicXPC 2.8/512
PTLE 6.4 CS6&9
Waves: Platinum(5) & IR1 (5.1)
DigiOO2 Factory
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
* Tweak your Mac into a Super Hotrodding Machine ! * PacMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-21-2002 01:12 PM
sound blaster audigy cuba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-08-2001 11:10 AM
Is sound blaster for mac different than for PC? cyberstudio Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-09-2001 05:31 AM
ProTools and sound Blaster JC925602 Tips & Tricks 0 01-07-2001 04:53 PM
001 with sound blaster live hotrod468 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-27-2000 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com