Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2013, 03:07 PM
TomLewis TomLewis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 12
Default Mac OS 10.8 unable to finder search Isis volumes

We recently upgraded our Audio Post facility to ISIS 5500 storage and Pro Tools 11 running on Mac OS 10.8 (Mountain Lion). We previously ran PT 10 on a Facilis Fiber storage with Mac OS Snow Leopard.

My problem is this. OS Mountain Lion (apparently) is unable to do a finder search on network attached storage (AVID ISIS). We are a post production facility and have a large collection of custom and commercial sound effects. We prefer to use the "Import Audio" command in Pro Tools and COPY the files chosen to the project Audio folder. This keeps all audio neatly nested for archive and retrieval.

We really need to be able to search the ISIS storage using the Mac OS.

Has anyone found a way to fix this?

Thanks in advance.
Tom Lewis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2013, 07:47 AM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: Mac OS 10.8 unable to finder search Isis volumes

Easy: install the ISIS client for MAC, then you will find all the workspaces by user/permissions.

You can download the client from installers within the ISIS web page...
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Recording Engineer/AES member.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified Levesl 1 & 2
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

https://soundcloud.com/felipegonzalez-1-1/tracks

Custom Mac Pro OSX 10.8.5 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 10/12 | Pyramix V 10 | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | JBL LSR 305 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins| Avid Media Composer 8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2013, 11:03 AM
TomLewis TomLewis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 12
Default Re: Mac OS 10.8 unable to finder search Isis volumes

I'm sorry if I didn't make it clear. These Pro Tools Mac computers have the ISIS clients installed and can mount the ISIS volumes we have designated for Pro Tools. My delema is that appearently starting with Apple OS 10.7, Finder/Spotlight no longer will search a network attached drive. I can use the workspace function in Pro Tools to search all storage attached. However when you drag a file from Workspace to a Pro Tools session, The file will be "referred to" in it's original location.

We like to work with the Import Audio command. Then do a search using the finder window on the top right. Then after selecting a SFX file from the many hundreds we choose copy. That way the file is copied and nested with the rest of the audio in the Audio files folder of same project. We are then able to archive projects with all associated audio.

With OS 10.8, I do not get any results from networked volumes when I do a search. This is new to me as we were on OS 10.6 until a week ago and did not have this problem.

Has anyone found a fix for this Apple OS Flaw?

Thanks
Tom Lewis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2013, 11:32 AM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: Mac OS 10.8 unable to finder search Isis volumes

Got it.

I have found the following...

"User nugroho4

This Terminal command work for me.
Right now my spotlight start indexing my external HD

First check if with this command

mdutil -s -a

if the result is Indexing disabled on your Ext Volumes
write this command

sudo mdutil -a -i on

and enter your password ---

if the terminal said your ext drive is still Indexing and Searching Disable (mine was), go to the spotlight pref/ privacy. And delete the ext HD if there."

According to Apple, this function is still enabled in Lion and Mountain Lion...
http://support.apple.com/kb/PH10593

Hope this help.
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Recording Engineer/AES member.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified Levesl 1 & 2
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

https://soundcloud.com/felipegonzalez-1-1/tracks

Custom Mac Pro OSX 10.8.5 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 10/12 | Pyramix V 10 | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | JBL LSR 305 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins| Avid Media Composer 8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro, Finder wont search the system drive. blackbird99 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 13 03-31-2013 05:43 PM
Isis Buccanears Post - Surround - Video 2 06-12-2012 03:53 AM
Unable to Search a Network Drive via the Import Audio Dialog Box LT_CJ Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 03-07-2012 01:25 PM
? on ISIS Craig F Post - Surround - Video 0 11-01-2005 03:52 PM
pro isis marche pas samys Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 11-15-2001 06:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com