Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2007, 06:50 PM
TomLewis TomLewis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 12
Default Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

Anybody out there using a Colin Broad Sr-4 synchronizer?

We have Pro Tools 7.2 on Windows. We are considering purchasing a new synchronizer. What I would like to do is have the synchronizer control Pro Tools via machine control deck emulation.

The reason for this is that we need to record our DME stems in Pro Tools at the same time we are laying back to tape. Our current work flow is to record mixes to Digibeta and DMEs to DA88 using TimeLine Microlynx. However we are moving into HD and have purchased Sony SRW5500 and Panasonic DVCproHD. The microlynx does not have machine templets for these new decks, thus our purchase consideration. And yes I know I can just use machine control. But only if I mix my stems to Pro Tools first and then do a layback pass. We generally don't have the time for the layback pass. We do "live layback" during the mix.

So, I know the SR-4 is one of the on;y qualified synchronizers to control Pro Tools. How do you set it up? And how well does it work?

Thanks in advance.

Tom Lewis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2007, 09:48 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,156
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

Email Bill here:
http://www.timelinevista.net/

He's the only guy left who services them, ex-Timeline service man.
See if he can help you with new machine profiles, couldnt hurt!!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2008, 02:14 PM
dcaudio dcaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: DC
Posts: 85
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

Quote:

The reason for this is that we need to record our DME stems in Pro Tools at the same time we are laying back to tape. Our current work flow is to record mixes to Digibeta and DMEs to DA88 using TimeLine Microlynx. However we are moving into HD and have purchased Sony SRW5500 and Panasonic DVCproHD. The microlynx does not have machine templets for these new decks, thus our purchase consideration. And yes I know I can just use machine control. But only if I mix my stems to Pro Tools first and then do a layback pass. We generally don't have the time for the layback pass. We do "live layback" during the mix.


Hey,

What is it about machine control that prevents an external "live layback" to a tape deck and printing stems internally to protools at the same time?

I print 8 tracks of DA88 and multiple stems in PT's at the same time: DA88 is master, PT's tracks put armed, PT's online, press record on the DA88 and sha-bam! And I do this without Machine Control (the DA88 is right next to the mix position).

I do occasionaly have lip sync issues, but I think that is the madness of Delay Compensation...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:00 PM
SBP SBP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 291
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

The dual transport mode on Icon (7.4cs2) lets you do this. (Well part of what you want ie one machine and pro tools tracks) At least I was able to do it this week on a project.

In Destructive record mode with a pre-roll setting.

1 -set point that you want to drop in on pro tools tracks.
2 -with ProTools transport active hit record.
3 -Once "in sync" hit machine transport once then hit record on machine transport.
you'll be recording to Protools and to machine.

-It would be nice if you could drop into both as one setting but this work around didn't seem too painful.

Cheers

Bruno
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2008, 12:58 PM
macaholic macaholic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: atlanta, ga
Posts: 260
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

I second what dcaudio said.

You just have to enable "Transport Record Lock" in your Preferences>Operation in the "Record" section. Print stems and layback to tape at the same time.
__________________
JC Richardson C.A.S.
Magick Lantern
Atlanta
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2008, 01:18 PM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 340
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

I have had issues trying to do the same thing you are mentioning. We have Digi's machine control software running on a Mac Pro 2x2.66 pt. 7.3.1cs6
Whenever we engage the track inside of protools that we want to record our audio to, it kicks the 5500 into PreRead mode.

Randall
__________________
Randall Smith
Audio Editor/Mixer
Starz Entertainment Group
Denver, CO
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:03 AM
bdangler bdangler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

Man, I keep having this problem. With the older gray 5500 decks, when I record-enable tracks in PT to record the stems, it kicks the deck into pre-read. This doesn't happen on the newer black decks we have. Has anyone figured this out? I'm on 8.0.3 HD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2010, 01:55 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

The SR 4 is a complex and clever beast but NOT intuitive. The same goes for Colin - unless you speak 9- pin!

Why not record your stems in PT at the same time as laying back mix to vt?

I do it all the time with destructive record and preroll - a few more button presses, but much easier than diving into the SR 4. When oh when will digi (oops Avid) let us drop in to ext mc and PT at the same time.
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2010, 02:33 PM
jahtao jahtao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 217
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
record your stems in PT at the same time as laying back mix to vt?
Have never done this but would like to know how, care to explain which buttons to press and when? : ) Hugely appreciated! It's sure to come in very useful at some point.

(With my present understanding, I have to go the DA88 route if I want stems + a digi simultaneously)

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-17-2010, 03:03 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: Colin Broad Sr4 syncronizer

shortcuts for switching between ext machine and protools (if you don't have an icon) is command + \ (I use these keys as I switch consoles a lot between Icons and ProControl)

not in my studio now, but from memory (gosh it's hard when you aren't actually doing it):

set up machine control
set your pre-roll to 75 frames for vt machine in the machine control page
cmd + 6 to select insert tracks on VT
select pro tools as transport
select destructive record
arm your stem tracks in PT
control +K to enable pre and post roll (set to 3 sec pre and 1 post)
put external vt on line (which I think is alt + spacebar)
hit the star key on the numeric keypad
enter your timecode for record start (10:00:00:00 for the pal types here)
hit 3 on numeric keypad (enables record - initiates sequence)
once pt is prerolling and locating vt , hit command + \ to select VT as transport (don't wory about PT - it will still auto record at 10:00:00:00)
drop vt into edit and voila - both vt and PT are in record

now you know why the pre roll times are in, to allow time to do the cmd + \ command to switch transports and drop vt into record

I final mix live to VT and layback stems into PT all the time at AETN uk - keeps you on your toes.....

sing alleluia and praise your kind friend mikerophonics - it's past my bed time!
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite Link and the Colin Broad PD-1 Matt Reale Post - Surround - Video 3 03-15-2012 08:19 PM
PT8 and Colin Broad PD-1 TAFF Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-29-2009 04:59 AM
Broad Pro Tools Questions thebmp General Discussion 6 02-09-2006 10:30 AM
Anyone using Colin Broad 9 pin converter with Pioneer DVD? Wolfgang Eller Post - Surround - Video 0 04-24-2003 12:33 AM
Bravo Colin (McDSP) iLok debugging for HD !!! Ray Fabi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-29-2002 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com