Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #261  
Old 10-18-2019, 06:05 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 296
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Are you guys not printing your tracks for archiving?
^^^^ This ^^^^

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 10-18-2019, 06:06 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
PT application went 64bit in v11 but there are still some so called "frameworks" that are 32bit and need to be 64bit until PT can launch on Catalina
Avid would have known what was coming down the pike re:64bit and had several years to clean up their code. I don't expect Catalina compatibility the week the OS comes out but if the Mojave to Catalina compatibility tweaks take past the end of the year, it indicates that Avid may be in deep trouble and doesn't have the resources to support their customer base. I have no idea what would happen to the pro recording industry if that happens.

Perhaps Peter Gabriel can save Avid like he did for SSL. :)
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 10-18-2019, 07:57 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 390
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Its all a rear guard action now. Retreat wink wink to the higher paying ground they can defend
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 10-19-2019, 07:45 AM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 119
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Are you guys not printing your tracks for archiving?
But even if you print your tracks, if Pro Tools is no longer able to open due to not being compatible with your OS, how do you recover your tracks? Just curious because what I know about printing doesn't solve this....or does it?
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, iMac Pro, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave), Logic Pro X, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, UAD Ultimate Bundle among others, Waves 11: Mercury, Abbey Road, Studio Classics, too many other plugins and VIs to name

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 10-19-2019, 07:48 AM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 119
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
I'm confused. Why are you stuck? If at any point you buy a permanent license, you don't need to continue to pay Avid anything and you will always have backward compatibility for old projects. I stopped upgrading a couple of years back at v12.8, and can open old projects just fine. And yes, I switched to a different DAW, but I still have PT here when I need it, just not the latest version.
But what if you want to sell all your avid hardware? What if an OS update no longer allows you to open your files? I'm all ears if there is a solution to this. Seriously I don't know the solution. If I recorded songs on PT version....let's say 5 would I still be able to open it on a Mac with Mojave? I can archive my tracks by printing them but would the file open and if it doesn't open how do I get the tracks? I'm not experienced in this area. I imagine pros have to deal with this all the time. I know when the Beatles tracks were remastered and remixed, they did it with the original master tapes on with equipment that could run the tapes and on a console that could process the tape information. They didn't just convert to digital and remaster/remix on PT 2019. Maybe this is a bad comparison, but it highlights the idea of taking old technology and bringing it to light decades later.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, iMac Pro, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave), Logic Pro X, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, UAD Ultimate Bundle among others, Waves 11: Mercury, Abbey Road, Studio Classics, too many other plugins and VIs to name

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 10-19-2019, 11:13 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
But even if you print your tracks, if Pro Tools is no longer able to open due to not being compatible with your OS, how do you recover your tracks? Just curious because what I know about printing doesn't solve this....or does it?
your Printed Tracks would just be a bunch of Wav Files ... not dependant on ANY Daw ... !!!

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 10-19-2019, 11:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,199
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
your Printed Tracks would just be a bunch of Wav Files ... not dependant on ANY Daw ... !!!
... as long as they all start from zero and therefore don't need a session file
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 10-19-2019, 11:31 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
... as long as they all start from zero and therefore don't need a session file
yes, that is the Case !! thx Janne !!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 10-19-2019, 02:24 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 851
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

But any previous mixing is lost. Obviously you can open the track files, but without the mixing everything you have done is lost. Sometimes I want to do a few tweaks of a mix for video or other purposes, or need a redone mix without lead vocal, etc. Those things require the ability to open a session. Yes, one can print the FX, but that defeats the purpose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
your Printed Tracks would just be a bunch of Wav Files ... not dependant on ANY Daw ... !!!

cheers john
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 10-19-2019, 02:32 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
But any previous mixing is lost. Obviously you can open the track files, but without the mixing everything you have done is lost. Sometimes I want to do a few tweaks of a mix for video or other purposes, or need a redone mix without lead vocal, etc. Those things require the ability to open a session. Yes, one can print the FX, but that defeats the purpose.
depends on how you print your track !!

#1- print tracks RAW, no Automation .. so as you say No Mix Elements
#2-print tracks WITH Automatioin and Print All FX .. in this way, your Mix would return to you .. sans, your Master Bus Processing, if you did any ..

now, this would probably sufice for archive for most people .. having to open sessions and do little tweaks .. obviously not .. keep an older system intact and fire it up once in awhile .. making sure the entire system Boot Drives and All are Backed up 2-3 times !!

fun stuff !!!

john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Avid S6 1 10-21-2017 12:28 PM
Sierra 10.10.6 - To COMBO update - or App Store Update ? Seafoam_Green macOS 4 09-15-2017 02:19 PM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 04:57 PM
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 02:50 PM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 03:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com