Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2006, 03:50 AM
StrykeBack StrykeBack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 12
Default Changing the color of PT mixer / interface?

I like that its simple and clean and easy to get around in but before I was converted to protools at my audio school, I had been a big Cubase SX user for a year or 2. I loved the look of the interface as far as darker shades and colors. I find that after an hour or 2 my eyes start hurting from all the bright greys and whites and wish there was a way to change the shading or allow for "skins" of some sort to apply.

Is there anything hidden in the program that could allow us to edit the colors and graphics or could u guys at digi toss the idea around to let us have a little control in that area please?

We have been having a bit of a discussion on it over at gearslutz http://gearslutz.com/board/showthrea...414#post996414
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2006, 09:41 AM
Mario C Mario C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 325
Default Re: Changing the color of PT mixer / interface?

I like the idea of being able to change color schemes, but I would lean away from different skins. IMO, that would simply add another layer of troubleshooting when systems started acting up. How many other apps out there that allow skins have disclaimers stating not all skins may work and may break the app?

I'm all for improved color schemes and graphics, though.

Digi? Throw that on your to-do list?
__________________
Mario C
Metcom Studios
www.metcomstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:01 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Changing the color of PT mixer / interface?

Quote:


Digi? Throw that on your to-do list?
Please don't. There are far too many other priorities.

Like 7.2 ProControl bugs.
Mix Window defaults to full screen and Grid mode toggles to Reletive/Absolute each time you select Grid from PC.
The Skin is fine. It looks professional the way it is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2006, 04:59 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: Changing the color of PT mixer / interface?

From what I've heard... it's the color that it is for a reason. When you're staring at the screen for hours and there are bright colors (like other DAWs) and everything changing everywhere, it's better on the eyes/brain. I like it as is.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2006, 06:29 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Changing the color of PT mixer / interface?

Actually...

Version 7.3 has a neat little undocumented feature:

Double click on any tracks color bar. While the color palette is open click and drag the mouse anywhere on screen and watch what happens to your tracks.

While not exactly what you're looking for, it might tide you over until...
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When did mixer channelstrips color become unified? Armando Pro Tools 11 1 08-16-2013 11:32 PM
Changing the Waveform look and color Old School Audio Guy Pro Tools Software (Win) 0 04-26-2013 02:11 PM
Color on Mixer View Gons Deejay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-29-2008 12:29 PM
Vote-COLOR MIXER OR NOT!!!! M2E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 109 12-25-2007 07:47 AM
How do you do the color mixer thing? tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-19-2007 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com